Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/21/2024 18:01:04

Sponsor 743
September 6
River Cities Speedway,
Grand Forks, ND
Sanction: WISSOTA Late Models (John Seitz Memorial) - $9,200
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated September 7, 7:13 pm)
Diemel gets redemption in John Seitz Memorial
John Seitz Memorial
  1. A.J. Diemel
  2. Joey Pederson
  3. Ricky Weiss
  4. Jake Redetzke
  5. Jeff Provinzino
  6. Pat Doar
  7. Brad Seng
  8. John Kaanta
  9. Steve Laursen
  10. Adam Hensel
  11. Dustin Strand
  12. Eric Breeschoten
  13. Marshall Fegers
  14. Curt Gelling
  15. Tyson Turnbull
  16. Norm Olson
  17. Jeff Wildung
  18. Don Shaw
  19. Mike Balcaen
  20. Jeff Massingill
  21. Shane Edginton
  22. Cody Skytland
  23. Bill Mooney
  24. Zach Naastad
  25. Zach Johnson
  26. Steve Anderson
presented by
Cody Papke/crpphotos.com
A.J. Diemel celebrates his rich victory at River Cities.
What won the race: Gaining redemption after coming up just short one year ago, seventh-starting A.J. Diemel of Elk Mound, Wis., raced to $9,200 victory in the John Seitz Memorial, nipping hard-charging Joey Pederson of East Grand Forks, N.D., at the line by .116 seconds.
Key notes: Diemel stole the point from polesitter and early leader Don Shaw of Ham Lake, Minn., on the 13th circuit and led the rest of the 92-lap distance. ... After starting 23rd, Pederson steadily worked his way through the field and went from sixth to second with a key move on the 78th lap; he turned up the pressure on Diemel with a high-side charge late, but fell just short of an improbable victory at the line. ... The feature lasted just under 48 minutes and 15 drivers completed all 92 laps. ... Diemel lost a tough race to Brad Seng of Grand Forks, N.D., in the 2013 running of the event. ... The eighth annual event honored late WISSOTA racer John Seitz of Bemidji, Minn. ... Preliminary action was contested Friday. ... The 92-lap feature paid $9,200 to the winner and $920 to each feature starter in a nod to Seitz's No. 92 car. ... Several other contingency prizes were on the line, including rewards for the hard charger, longest tow, hard luck, 19th-place finisher, highest-finishing first-time entrant and more.
On the move: Pederson ripped through the field to finish second after starting 23rd; Ricky Weiss of Headingley, Manitoba, rounded out the podium after starting 10th.
Winner's sponsors: Diemel's No. 58 MB Customs machine is sponsored by Allstar Performance, Beltline Body Shop, CMD Race Shocks, Joe Provo Racewear, Keyser Manufacturing, Mars Race Cars, Nolan Livestock Northern Chill, Schaeffer's Racing Oil and Speedwerx.
Points chase: Entering the weekend, Weiss had 1,623 points to lead Harry Hanson (1,581) and Scott Ward (1,560) in the WISSOTA standings.
Car count: 46
Polesitter: Don Shaw
Dash winner: Don Shaw
Heat race winners: Jeff Provinzino, Steve Laursen, Cody Skytland, Jake Redetzke, Mike Balcaen
Consolation race winners: Eric Breeschoten, Zach Naastad
Editor's note: Fixes Pederson's starting position to 23rd.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information