Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/24/2021 15:58:20

Sponsor 743
May 22
Lake Cumberland Speedway,
Burnside, KY
Sanction: Valvoline Iron-Man Southern Series (Johnny Wheeler Memorial) - $5,031
Information provided by: Richard Allen, series and track reports (last updated May 23, 8:40 am)
Gilpin sails to first Iron-Man victory, earns $5,031
Johnny Wheeler Memorial
  1. Devin Gilpin
  2. Dustin Linville
  3. Jared Hawkins
  4. Jensen Ford
  5. Zack Dohm
  6. Michael Chilton
  7. Tommy Bailey
  8. Justin Rattliff
  9. Ryan King
  10. Dustin Nobbe
  11. Ted Nobbe
  12. Tristan Chamberlain
  13. Larry Greer
  14. Dusty Carver
  15. Steve Stollings
  16. Tim Taylor
  17. Corey Morgan
  18. Dillon Crim
  19. David Webb
  20. Phil Helton
  21. Jeff Rawlings
  22. Camaron Marlar
presented by
Chad Wells/wellsracingphotos.com
Devin Gilpin in victory lane at Lake Cumberland Speedway.
What won the race: Polesitter Devin Gilpin of Columbus, Ind., successfully diced through lapped traffic and kept his competitors at bay 30 laps to win Saturday's Johnny Wheeler Memorial at Lake Cumberland Speedway, earning $5,031. Gilpin captured his first Valvoline Iron-Man Racing Series victory.
Quotable: “We finally got one. It’s cool to get the Johnny Wheeler Memorial, too,” Gilpin said. “I remember as a kid going to Ponderosa and all them places and (Wheeler) was tough. So it’s cool to get this race."
Key notes: Gilpin had won the previous Saturday at Brownstown, Ind., in a weekly event. ... Dustin Linville of Lancaster, Ky., challenged Gilpin in the closing laps before settling for second. ... Zack Dohm of Cross Lanes, W.Va., ran second early and finished fifth in his father's No. 6T. ... Saturday's feature, the third race for the Iron-Man Northern Series and the second race for the Iron-Man Southern Series, was slowed by a lap-five red flag for a pileup that blocked the track in turns one and two; seven cars were involved after Dillon Crim-David Webb contact sparked the melee. … The Johnny Wheeler Memorial honors the second-generation racer from Campbellsville, Ky., who died May 29, 2018. ... Wheeler, a champion at a number of Kentucky tracks, including Lake Cumberland, was a six-time Battle of the Bluegrass winner.
On the move: Tommy Bailey of Corbin, Ky., started 12th and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Gilpin’s Rocket Chassis is powered by a Jay Dickens Racing Engine and sponsored by Indsoltech, Jason Clarkson Logging, South Central Roofing, Dasco Race Supply, Blondie’s Pizzeria & Pub, Freedom Fireworks, RJ Recycling, Right Auto Parts, Browns Oil Services, Weimiller Express, Arizona Sport Shirts, Accu-Force, KBC Graphix, Delph Communications, Beyea Headers and Eddie Gilstrap Motors.
Points chase: Entering the event, Jonathan Davenport (80 points) led the Iron-Man South Series points and Devin Moran (165 points) of Dresden, Ohio led Iron-Man North points.
Current weather: Clear, 73°F
Car count: 24
Fast qualifier: Camaron Marlar
Time: 13.508 seconds
Polesitter: Devin Gilpin
Heat race winners: Devin Gilpin, Dustin Linville, Zack Dohm, Jared Hawkins
Next series race: May 31, 411 Motor Speedway (Seymour, TN) $10,052
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Gilpin, Dohm
Row 2: Linville, Hawkins
Row 3: Ford, Crim
Row 4: Rattliff, Chilton
Row 5: Webb, Helton
Row 6: D. Nobbe, Bailey
Row 7: King, Greer
Row 8: Carver, Taylor
Row 9: T. Nobbe, Rawlings
Row 10: Chamberlain, Morgan
Row 11: Stollings, Marlar
Row 12: McGuffey

Sponsor 718
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728