Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/14/2024 00:52:10

Sponsor 743
September 4
River Cities Speedway,
Grand Forks, ND
Sanction: Northern LateModel Racing Association (Prelude to the Johnny) - $1,250
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated September 5, 11:20 am)
Weiss steals River Cities win from Seng late
Prelude to the Johnny
  1. Ricky Weiss
  2. Brad Seng
  3. A.J. Diemel
  4. Don Shaw
  5. John Kaanta
  6. Jeff Provinzino
  7. Adam Hensel
  8. Jeff Wildung
  9. Bill Mooney
  10. Pat Doar
  11. Jake Redetzke
  12. Steve Anderson
  13. Joey Pederson
  14. Mike Balcaen
  15. Zach Naastad
  16. Steve Laursen
  17. Tom Corcoran
  18. Lance Matthees
  19. Dave Smith
  20. Steffen Snare
  21. Norm Olson
  22. Matt Aukland
  23. Troy Schill
  24. Jeff Hapala
  25. Cole Schill
  26. Eric Breeschoten
presented by
Rick Rea/rickrea.com
Ricky Weiss maintained his hot streak at River Cities Speedway.
What won the race: Winning for the fourth time in his last seven starts, fifth-starting Ricky Weiss of Headingley, Manitoba, stole the lead from newly-crowned Northern LateModel Racing Association champion Brad Seng of Grand Forks, N.D., on the 27th of 30 laps and went on for a $1,250 victory.
Key notes: Weiss stalked Seng for most of the race prior to making the winning pass. ... Seng, who started fourth and led the first 26 circuits, kept pace with Weiss over the final laps and finished just .387 seconds behind the winner. ... Thirteen drivers were on the lead lap and 21 were running at the finish. ... The race was slowed by a single caution on the third lap. ... Mike Balcaen of Winnipeg, Manitoba, rallied from seventh to win the second heat. ... Thursday's event concluded the NLRA season. ... Weiss became the fourth different NLRA winner at River Cities this season and the fourth different driver in as many years to open the John Seitz Memorial weekend with an NLRA victory. ... The Prelude to the Johnny opened the River Cities weekend that is headlined by the $9,200-to-win John Seitz Memorial, a non-touring race for WISSOTA Late Models. ... Speedshift TV is providing a pay-per-view coverage of the three-day event.
On the move: A.J. Diemel of Elk Mound, Wis., came forward from ninth to round out the podium; Jeff Wildung of Nassau, Minn., started 17th and finished eighth.
Winner's sponsors: Weiss's No. 7 Bloomquist Race Car has a Pro Power Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from A.I.E. Mobility, Bell Mobility, Derrick's Sandblasting, Eibach Springs, Forest Flying Service, Hands On Excavating, J&C Trucking, Keewatin Truck Service, Metalz In Motion, New Vision Graphics, Speedworld Indoor Kart Track, Turk Enterprises and Wulff Pumps.
Points chase: Seng wrapped up his second NLRA championship in three seasons with his runner-up finish.
Car count: 38
Polesitter: Don Shaw
Heat race winners: Ricky Weiss, Mike Balcaen, Pat Doar, Don Shaw, Brad Seng
Consolation race winners: Eric Breeschoten, Jeff Wildung
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information