Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/26/2020 07:26:28

Sponsor 743
September 1
Boone Speedway,
Boone, IA
Sanction: IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series (Speedway Motors Super Nationals) - $3,000
Information provided by: Christian Dundee and series reports (last updated September 2, 10:40 am)
Aikey holds off Kay for $3,000 at Boone
Speedway Motors Super Nationals
  1. Jeff Aikey
  2. Justin Kay
  3. Charlie McKenna
  4. Andy Eckrich
  5. Tyler Bruening
  6. Joel Callahan
  7. Brian Harris
  8. Richie Gustin
  9. Scott Fitzpatrick
  10. Todd Cooney
  11. Todd Frank
  12. Jason Hahne
  13. Jason Rauen
  14. Joe Zrostlik
  15. Jon Passick
  16. Jeremy Grady
  17. Darrel DeFrance
  18. Ryan Dolan
  19. Paul Nagle
  20. Darren Ackerman
  21. Greg Kastli
  22. Al Johnson
  23. Ray Guss Jr.
  24. Allan Hopp
  25. Tyler Droste
presented by
John Vass
Jeff Aikey heads to his fourth Super Nationals victory at Boone.
What won the race: Second-starting Jeff Aikey of Cedar Falls, Iowa, held off hard-charging Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, the IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series points leader, for a $3,000 victory in Boone's Speedway Motors Super Nationals. Aikey won his series-leading 63rd career victory and matched the four Super Nationals victories of Gary Webb.
Quotable: “I knew somebody was going to have an awfully good car to beat me tonight because my car was on,” Aikey said. “Through three and four, right through the middle, it just bit. I knew nobody was go­ing to catch me in that turn.”
Key notes: Aikey, making his 17th career Super Nationals start, led every lap. ... Tyler Bruening of Decorah, Iowa, ran second most of the way but faded following a pair of lap-39 restarts. ... The race was slowed by two cautions on lap 39, one on for debris and one for Jason Rauen of Farley, Iowa. ... Rauen was disqualified from his heat race after an illegal ignition box was discovered in post-race tech. ... Aikey's other series victory of 2014 came June 24 at Marshalltown (Iowa) Speedway. ... Late Model action kicked off IMCA's busiest week of the season that continues with one of modified racing's most prestigious crowns. ... The series is made its 42nd stop at Boone (and 25th during the Super Nationals).
On the move: Kay came from ninth to claim runner-up honors.
Winner's sponsors: Aikey's No. 77 is sponsored by Larry Fleck & Son Trucking, Steinfeldt Painting, Can-Am Automotive & Towing, BSB Mfg. and Aikey Auto Salvage.
Points chase: Kay extended his points lead over fourth-finishing Andy Eckrich of Oxford, Iowa. Four races remain on the 2014 campaign.
Car count: 41
Polesitter: Tyler Bruening
Heat race winners: Tyler Bruening, Jason Hahne, Jeff Aikey, Andy Eckrich, Brian Harris
Consolation race winners: Darrel DeFrance, Jeremy Grady
Provisional starters: Todd Cooney, Ray Guss Jr., Ryan Dolan, Jason Rauen
Next series race: September 12, Farley Speedway (Farley, IA) $3,500
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728