Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/21/2024 05:05:42

Sponsor 743
April 16
34 Raceway,
West Burlington, IA
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Prelude to the Slocum) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 17, 6:03 pm)
Shirley wires Slocum Prelude for MLRA victory
Prelude to the Slocum
  1. Brian Shirley
  2. Bobby Pierce
  3. Billy Moyer
  4. Tony Jackson Jr.
  5. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  6. Ryan Unzicker
  7. Ashton Winger
  8. Tyler Bruening
  9. Garrett Alberson
  10. Justin Reed
  11. Kolby Vandenbergh
  12. Jason Papich
  13. Mitch McGrath
  14. Tony Toste
  15. Rodney Sanders
  16. Chad Simpson
  17. Justin Duty
  18. Brennon Willard
  19. Ryan Gustin
  20. Mason Oberkramer
  21. Jake Timm
  22. Dennis Erb Jr.
  23. Jesse Stovall
  24. Rich Bell
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Brian Shirley acknowleges the 34 crowd after Friday's win.
What won the race: Polesitter Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., led all 40 laps Friday at 34 Raceway, topping the Prelude to the Slocum field and collecting $5,000. Shirley's win was the second of his career with the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association.
Quotable: "This place hasn't been really good to me, so to show up here tonight and unload pretty fast, I just can't thank Aaron (Mitchell) enough. He has put in a lot of work," Shirley said. “I felt like my car was pretty good and I felt comfortable in it, so I just needed to make sure I hit my marks and I felt like I could bring it home."
Key notes: Ryan Gustin of Marshalltown, Iowa, made contact with Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., on lap 35 while battling for second position, causing Gustin to roll over in turn four, landing on his wheels. ... Gustin was uninjured, but showed his displeasure with Pierce by walking to his car while still under the red flag. ... Pierce finished second, 1.361 seconds behind Shirley, but wasn’t well received by fans during his postrace interview. ... Early series point leader, Ashton Winger of Senoia, Ga., finished seventh. ... Reid Millard of Jefferson City, Mo., hit the turn-four wall during qualifying and scratched for the night. ... Friday's feature was slowed by three caution flags and the resulting red flag for Gustin's flip, causing it to last just over 30 minutes. ... Seventeen drivers completed 40 laps. ... MLRA completes its fifth race of the week Saturday at 34 Raceway where every lap of the 13th annual, $10,555-to-win Slocum 50 will stream live on FloRacing for all subscribers. ... Pierce won last year’s Slocum 50, which is run in honor of the late Brent Slocum, an IMCA Late Model racer killed after being struck by an errant car in the pits at 34 Raceway in 2005. … The Brent Slocum Foundation recently launched a website, SlocumRace.com, offering information and history on the event and ways in which the foundation is giving back in honor of Slocum.
On the move: Garrett Alberson of Las Cruces, N.M., started 22nd and finished ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Shirley’s Bob Cullen Racing Rocket Chassis is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and sponsored by Thomason Express, Hoker Trucking, J&J Ventures Gaming, Kid’s Castle Learning Center, KBC Graphics, Cheap Cars, Bass Livestock Nutrition, Allgaier Motorsports and Integra Shocks.
Points chase: Heading to Saturday's Slocum Memorial, Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo., has 725 points to lead Billy Moyer and Ashton Winger, tied at 720.
Current weather: Clear, 54°F
Car count: 41
Fast qualifier: Brian Shirley
Time: 14.981 seconds
Polesitter: Brian Shirley
Heat race winners: Brian Shirley, Ryan Gustin, Billy Moyer, Frank Heckenast Jr.
Consolation race winners: Dennis Erb Jr., Justin Duty
Provisional starters: Chad Simpson, Brennon Willard
Next series race: April 17, 34 Raceway (West Burlington, IA) $10,555
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Shirley, Moyer
Row 2: Gustin, Heckenast Jr.
Row 3: Pierce, Bruening
Row 4: Jackson Jr., Reed
Row 5: McGrath, Winger
Row 6: Unzicker, Oberkramer
Row 7: Vandenbergh, Sanders
Row 8: Toste, Papich
Row 9: Erb Jr., Duty
Row 10: Timm, Stovall
Row 11: Bell, Alberson
Row 12: Simpson, Willard

Sponsor 1269
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information