Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/23/2021 05:49:02

Sponsor 743
April 14
Stuart International Speedway,
Stuart, IA
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association - $5,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated April 15, 2:29 pm)
Stovall inherits $5,000 with Gustin disqualification
  1. Jesse Stovall
  2. Garrett Alberson
  3. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  4. Chris Simpson
  5. Jake Timm
  6. Chad Simpson
  7. Ashton Winger
  8. Mason Oberkramer
  9. Terry Phillips
  10. Jason Papich
  11. Tony Jackson Jr.
  12. Rodney Sanders
  13. Justin Duty
  14. Tony Toste
  15. Jeremiah Hurst
  16. Jordan Yaggy
  17. Todd Cooney
  18. Blair Nothdurft
  19. Brennon Willard
  20. Jeff Herzog
  21. Gary Brown Jr.
  22. Billy Moyer
  23. Justin Reed
  24. Ryan Gustin
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Ryan Gustin (19r) and Jesse Stovall (00) battle at Stuart Speedway.
What won the race: Jesse Stovall of Billings, Mo., inherited Wednesday's Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association victory at Stuart Speedway when apparent winner Ryan Gustin was disqualified because his car had an illegal rear suspension component. Gustin overtook Stovall on the 30th of 40 laps, but he was stripped of the $5,000 payday after the event because his upper four-bar rod was curved instead of straight as required by MLRA rules.
Quotable: "We needed this shot in the arm really really bad. I feel bad for Ryan and them. He did win the race and probably what he had on there wasn’t the deciding factor," Stovall said. "Ryan is a good racer and we have raced a lot together back in the mods and he won tonight, but circumstances took it away from him and I hate it for him, but were not going to hang our heads were going to go home and put this money in the bank because we sure needed it."
Key notes: The series didn't immediately report the reason for Ryan Gustin's disqualification. ... Jesse Stovall's 27th MLRA moves him into a tie for sixth on the all-time series victories list with Alan Vaughn. ... Gustin led the final 11 laps while the fourth-starting Stovall led 28 of the first 29 laps (polesitter Frank Heckenast Jr. edged ahead to lead lap 26). ... Cautions on laps 10, 11 and 27 slowed the action with seventh-starting Billy Moyer a lap-11 retiree. ... Twenty drivers completed 40 laps. ... Stuart's event was the second of five straight series races during a busy week starting with Tony Jackson Jr.'s Tuesday victory at I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, Neb. ... The week continues Thursday at Davenport (Iowa) Speedway before concluding with a Friday-Saturday doubleheader at 34 Raceway in West Burlington, Iowa, including the $10,555-to-win Slocum 50. … Stuart's presenting sponsors: Conrad Pillow Pets, Choice Inc., RaceXR.com and Karl Chevrolet Stuart. … The night’s action drew 118 race cars overall with the track hustling against a curfew.
On the move: Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, started 17th and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Stovall’s Rocket Chassis is powered by a Scott Bailey Racing Engine and sponsored by Dirt Track Bank, Swafford’s Service, Metal Magic Auto Hail Repair, Lucas Oil, Midwest Sheet Metal and J.J. Propane.
Points chase: Tony Jackson Jr. led MLRA points after a single event.
Current weather: Clear, 41°F
Car count: 31
Fast qualifier: Garrett Alberson
Time: 13.072 seconds
Polesitter: Frank Heckenast Jr.
Heat race winners: Frank Heckenast Jr., Chad Simpson, Garrett Alberson, Jesse Stovall
Consolation race winners: Chris Simpson
Provisional starters: Tony Jackson Jr., Brennon Willard
Next series race: April 15, Davenport Speedway (Davenport, IA) $5,000
Editor's note: Updates throughout with Gustin’s disqualification; corrects Stovall’s chassis manufacturer.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Heckenast, Timm
Row 2: Cha. Simpson, Stovall
Row 3: Oberkramer, Alberson
Row 4: Moyer Sr., Gustin
Row 5: Phillips, Toste
Row 6: Duty, Sanders
Row 7: Hurst, Papich
Row 8: Nothdurft, Winger
Row 9: Chr. Simpson, Brown
Row 10: Herzog, Yaggy
Row 11: Reed, Cooney
Row 12: Jackson, Willard

Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728