Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/19/2020 19:09:42

Sponsor 743
August 31
Monett Motor Speedway,
Monett, MO
Sanction: MARS DIRTcar Series West (Four-State Dirt Track Championship) - $4,000
Information provided by: Ron Mitchell (last updated September 1, 3:15 pm)
Vaught captures Monett's Four-State Championship
Four-State Dirt Track Championship
  1. Will Vaught
  2. Terry Phillips
  3. Justin Wells
  4. Jack Sullivan
  5. Ryan Gustin
  6. Tony Jackson Jr.
  7. Shane Essary
  8. Jesse Stovall
  9. Brandon McCormick
  10. Wendell Wallace
  11. Justin Asplin
  12. Jacob Magee
  13. Dave Eckrich
  14. Cole Wells
  15. Josh Hughes
  16. Leroy Johnson
  17. Jeff Roth
  18. Jon Driskill
  19. Randy Roth
  20. Garrett Essary
  21. Darrell Mooneyham
  22. Jason Hughes
  23. Brandon Morton
  24. Shannon Scott
presented by
Ron Mitchell
Ashtin Vaught greets her husband Will in victory lane.
What won the race: Rebounding from a disappointing finish one night earlier, Will Vaught of Crane, Mo., won from outside the front row Sunday in Monett Speedway's Four-State Dirt Track Championship. He took the checkers ahead of Terry Phillips for a $4,000 payday on the MARS DIRTcar Series.
Key notes: Vaught was leading late in Saturday's MLRA race at Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Mo., when contact with another car flattened a tire, knocking him out of contention. ... Vaught notched his third MARS victory of the season and second at Monett. He has nine career series victories, tied for seventh on the all-time list. ... In a consolation accident, Darrell Mooneyham and Brandon Morton tangled and went outside the track with Morton's machine getting hung in the outer fencing. ... Former track champ Justin Wells won the second heat from the tail with a last-lap pass of Dave Eckrich. ... The 44th annual Four-State Dirt Track Championship is among southwest Missouri's longest-running events. ... Cole Wells, the 18-year-old son of Justin, won his first Late Model feature at Monett on Aug. 15 in wrapping up the track title.
On the move: Ryan Gustin of Marshalltown, Iowa, started ninth and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Vaught steers a Warrior Race Car powered by a Custom Race Engine with sponsorship from Circle M Auto Sales, Eibach Springs, GW Performance, Integra Racing Shocks, Midwest Sheet Metal, Peterson Fluid Systems, Port City Racing and Warrior Race Cars.
Points chase: Entering the race, Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo., had 1,220 points to lead Justin Asplin (1,144) in MARS standings.
Car count: 37
Polesitter: Justin Wells
Heat race winners: Will Vaught, Justin Wells, Tony Jackson Jr., Jack Sullivan, Brandon McCormick
Consolation race winners: Jeff Roth, Jason Hughes
Next series race: September 13, Springfield Raceway (Springfield, MO) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728