Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/25/2020 20:21:44

Sponsor 743
August 31
Cherokee Speedway,
Gaffney, SC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series (Hall of Fame Classic) - $4,000
Information provided by: Various reports (last updated September 1, 4:34 pm)
Faltering foes open door for Rambo at Cherokee
Hall of Fame Classic
  1. Dennis Franklin
  2. Zack Mitchell
  3. Kennie Compton Jr.
  4. Ricky Weeks
  5. G.R. Smith
  6. Kyle Pierce
  7. Scott Shirey
  8. Kevin Wilson
  9. Jerry Loudermilk
  10. Casey Roberts
  11. Kevin Godwin
  12. Anthony Sanders
  13. Kenny Collins
  14. Ross Bailes
  15. Doug Davis
  16. Johnny Pursley
  17. Jonathan Edwards
  18. Chris Ferguson
  19. Frank Coates
  20. Doug Sanders
  21. Dustin Mitchell
  22. Dean Bowen
presented by
Zack Kloosterman
Rambo Franklin in victory lane at Cherokee Speedway.
What won the race: Benefitting from a pair of faltering leaders, series points leader Dennis "Rambo" Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., won his third straight Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series victory Sunday at Cherokee Speedway. Franklin led the final 16 laps after Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Ga., had a flat tire. Roberts had inherited the lead from polesitter Ross Bailes of Clover, S.C., on the 20th lap.
Key notes: Franklin has a series-leading 37 career Carolina Clash victory. ... He started fourth in the 24-car field. ... Dean Bowen was an early retiree and Doug Davis pitted early for a flat tire. ... Kenny Collins drew a lap-one caution. ... Cherokee hosted the second race of the tour's Countdown to the Cup Championship Chase. ... Chris Ferguson debuted his Great America-sponsored Longhorn Chassis powered by a Clements Racing Engine. ... Pre-race Hall of Fame ceremonies saw the induction of Doug Osteen (lifetime achievement), Earl "Strawberry" Davis (lifetime achievement), Dougman Davis (lifetime achievement), J.D. Brown (contributor), George Hilton (contributor), and Hot Rod Lamance (sportsman). ... Trent Ivey won the SECA-sanctioned Crate Late Model feature, earning $2,000.
On the move: Kennie Compton Jr. of Bland, Va., started 19th and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Franklin's Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Automotive Racing Engine is sponsored by Advanced Electronic Services, AES Racing, C&D Properties and M&W Towing.
Points chase: Dennis Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., has 1,039 points to lead Johnny Pursley (1,038) and Kennie Compton Jr. (1,035) in the Carolina Clash's chase-style playoff.
Car count: 24
Fast qualifier: Ross Bailes
Time: 15.066 seconds
Consolation race winners: Anthony Sanders, Scott Shirey
Provisional starters: Johnny Pursley, Jeff Smith
Next series race: September 5, Clary's Speedway (Brinkleyville, NC) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728