Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/26/2020 01:39:56

Sponsor 743
August 31
Hibbing Raceway,
Hibbing, MN
Sanction: WISSOTA special events (non-touring) (Labor Day Shootout) - $3,000
Information provided by: Greg Anderson and track reports (last updated September 2, 12:22 pm)
Brady Smith captures Hibbing's weekend finale
Labor Day Shootout
  1. Brady Smith
  2. Jake Redetzke
  3. Jeffrey Massingill
  4. Jeff Provinzino
  5. John Kaanta
  6. Rick Hanestad
  7. Terry Lillo
  8. Darrell Nelson
  9. Gregg Hill
  10. Harry Hanson
  11. Travis Budisalovich
  12. Tim Carlson
  13. Greg Ferris
  14. Jay Kintner
  15. Roger Paolo
  16. George Ledin Jr.
  17. Donald Frider
  18. John Toppozini
  19. Adam Hensel
presented by
What won the race: Winning Hibbing's Labor Day Shootout finale for the second straight year, Brady Smith of Solon Springs, Wis., collected $3,000 Sunday in the WISSOTA-sanctioned special hampered by rain midway through the program. Polesitter Jake Redetzke, Saturday's $3,000 winner, built a big lead early but Smith tracked him down amid traffic and set sail.
Key notes: Rain that hit after heat races forced a track repacking with the night's action lasting pass 2 a.m. ... Smith notched his second victory on the holiday weekend. He also picked up $3,300 Thursday at Proctor (Minn.) Speedway's Silver 1000. ... Wisconsin drivers got four of the top six spots in the rundown. ... Eighteen of 19 starters were running at the finish. ... Mike Vajdl, Thomas Cianni, Kyle Peterlin, Zach Wohlers and Aaron Lillo scratched from the main event. ... Adam Hensel was the lone dropout. ... U.S. Steel Minnesota Ore Operations, Pepsi and Domino's Pizza of Hibbing were the weekend's presenting sponsors.
On the move: Jeff Massingill of Keewatin, Minn., started ninth and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Smith drives a Rocket Chassis sponsored by Amsoil, Badger Storage & Excavating, Big Red Motorsports, Como Oil & Propane, GottaRace, Keyser Manufacturing, McFarland PC, Michaeletz Trucking, Permco, and Willow River Saloon.
Points chase: Entering the weekend, Terry Lillo of Duluth, Minn., led Hibbing's weekly Late Model standings with 490 points, just ahead of Jay Kintner (489).
Car count: 24
Polesitter: Jake Redetzke
Heat race winners: Rick Hanestad, Jeff Provinzino, Brady Smith
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728