Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/22/2021 21:20:01

Sponsor 743
October 16
Tri-City Speedway,
Granite City, IL
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated October 17, 8:00 am)
Tri-City delivers MLRA victory for Oberkramer
  1. Mason Oberkramer
  2. Chris Simpson
  3. Tim Manville
  4. Shannon Babb
  5. Bobby Pierce
  6. Billy Moyer
  7. Jason Papich
  8. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  9. Tony Jackson Jr.
  10. Rusty Schlenk
  11. Gordy Gundaker
  12. Michael Kloos
  13. Rick Eckert
  14. Garrett Alberson
  15. Payton Looney
  16. Tony Toste
  17. Allen Murray
  18. Dennis Erb Jr.
  19. Matt Bailey
  20. Jeremiah Hurst
  21. Ryan Gustin
  22. Chad Simpson
  23. Justin Duty
  24. Trevor Gundaker
  25. Brennon Willard
presented by
Todd Boyd/photosbyboyd.smugmug.com
Mason Oberkramer celebrates his MLRA victory at Tri-City.
What won the race: Taking advantage of his pole starting spot, Mason Oberkramer of Broseley, Mo., led 27 of 30 laps on his way to a $5,000 victory in Friday's Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association feature at Tri-City Speedway. Oberkramer won by 0.920 seconds on the opening night of a three-race weekend that wraps up the tour's 2020 campaign.
Quotable: “We didn’t plan on coming because we didn’t have no tires," Oberkramer said. "Todd Hall stepped up and said you’re too fast; you gotta get your butt to the track. He came up and gave us some tires money and here we are.”
Key notes: Oberkramer led the race's first three laps before giving up the lead to fellow front-row starter Tim Manville of Highland, Ill., on lap four. Manville led three circuits before Oberkramer retook command on lap seven. ... Oberkramer held on from there, pulling away after a final restart with five laps remaining to take the win over Chris Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa., in second and Manville in third. … Overkramer's previous MLRA victory came Sept. 5 at Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Mo. ... Friday's feature was slowed by only two caution flags and lasted just over 17 minutes. ... The top 19 finishers completed all 30 laps. … It was the first night of a season-ending three-race weekend for the MLRA series, as the tour returns to Tri-City on Saturday for a $7,000-to-win feature, before heading to Randolph County Raceway on Sunday. ... Jeremiah Hurst of Dubuque, Iowa, entered Friday as the series point leader, but narrowly transferred out of his consolation race and finished 20th. ... Hurst's closest points challenger Payton Looney of Crane, Mo., was forced to utilize a series provisional, but improved to finish to finish 15th after starting 23rd. ... Chad Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, also entered the weekend in the title hunt, but he faired the worse of three contenders with his 23rd-place finish after starting 18th. ... Friday's action was presented by Bullet Racing Engines and marked the fifth visit to Tri-City in MLRA history, the first since 2014.
On the move: Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., started 10th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Oberkramer's Barry Wright Race Car is powered by a Scott Bailey Racing Engine and sponsored by Allgaier Motorsports, Oberkramer Trucking, GYT90, Midwest Sheet Metal, FTS Incorporated, Ricks Hair Fashion (Bobby Doser) and SEMO Repair Service.
Points chase: Entering the weekend, Jeremiah Hurst (2,485 points) led Payton Looney (2,475), Chad Simpson (2,455), Tony Jackson Jr. (2,375) and Garrett Alberson (2,230).
Current weather: Clear, 45°F
Car count: 47
Fast qualifier: Ryan Gustin
Time: 14.961 seconds
Polesitter: Mason Oberkramer
Heat race winners: Mason Oberkramer, Tim Manville, Chris Simpson, Jason Papich
Consolation race winners: Matt Bailey, Chad Simpson
Provisional starters: Payton Looney, Justin Duty, Brennon Willard
Next series race: October 17, Tri-City Speedway (Granite City, IL) $7,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Oberkramer, Manville
Row 2: Chr. Simpson, Papich
Row 3: Babb, Gustin
Row 4: Jackson Jr., Heckenast Jr.
Row 5: Moyer Sr., Pierce
Row 6: Schlenk, Eckert
Row 7: Kloos, Erb Jr.
Row 8: G. Gundaker, Murray
Row 9: Bailey, Cha. Simpson
Row 10: Alberson, Hurst
Row 11: Toste, T. Gundaker
Row 12: Looney, Duty
Row 13: Willard
Sponsor 985
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728