Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/01/2022 06:44:31

Sponsor 743
April 6
I-80 Speedway,
Greenwood, NE
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Durst Double Down Spring Meltdown) - $2,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated April 7, 7:46 pm)
Sanders rules I-80's Spring Meltdown finale
Durst Double Down Spring Meltdown
  1. Rodney Sanders
  2. Brian Birkhofer
  3. Chad Simpson
  4. Terry Phillips
  5. Brad Looney
  6. Kyle Berck
  7. Jason Utter
  8. Travis Dickes
  9. Chase Junghans
  10. Chris Simpson
  11. Bill Leighton Jr.
  12. Dave Eckrich
  13. Jeremy Payne
  14. Jason Bodenhamer
  15. Matt Furman
  16. Mike Collins
  17. Lance Matthees
  18. Al Humphrey
  19. Todd Frank
  20. Jordan Yaggy
  21. Don Shaw
  22. Scott Lewis
  23. Bill Koons
  24. Justin Gregg
  25. Junior Coover
  26. J.C. Wyman
  27. Andrew Kosiski
  28. Tad Pospisil
  29. Tommy Weder Jr.
  30. Andy Eckrich
  31. John Anderson
  32. Jim Johnson
presented by
Lloyd Collins/fasttrackphotos.net
Rodney Sanders heads to victory in I-80's Spring Meltdown finale.
What won the race: Polesitter Rodney Sanders of Happy, Texas, held off a hard-charging Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, Iowa, to notch his first career Late Model victory.
Quotable: "We struggled pretty bad last night. We just made it in the show," Sanders said. "We changed some stuff around. We had a pretty good heat race. Starting up front, I didn't really know what we had."
Key notes: Sanders zipped under Terry Phillips exiting turn two and led the next restart when Justin Gregg got into the backstretch wall. ... From there, Sanders turned back challenges from Birkhofer. ... Sanders made only his third Late Model start of the season; he was an early retiree in Saturday's event. ... Kyle Berck of Marquette, was the highest-finishing home-state driver in sixth. ... Saturday's winner Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., started second and led the first half of the race before falling to fourth at the finish; Phillips was eligible for a $2,500 bonus had he been able to sweep the weekend. ... Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, debuted a new Rocket Chassis this weekend at I-80, recording a pair of top-five finishes. ... The 35-lap feature was slowed by a pair of cautions, the most serious of which coming on the second lap when multiple cars piled up in turn two. ... Friday's $2,000-to-win season opener was moved to Sunday because of uncooperative weather. ... I-80 promoter Joe Kosiski announced any Late Model entered for both of this weekend's events will receive free entry for the Corn Belt Clash event at l-80 on June 27. ... The Spring Meltdown was co-sanctioned by MLRA and the Corn Belt Clash.
On the move: Birkhofer rallied from 10th to finish second; he finished fourth Saturday.
Winner's sponsors: Sanders drives an MB Customs chassis sponsored by Swan Energy, Wichita Tank Racing, Kimrad Transport, Integra Racing Shocks and KBC Graphix.
Points chase: Terry Phillips has 204 points to lead MLRA followed by Chad Simpson (196), Brian Birkhofer (194) and Brad Looney (192);
Car count: 39
Polesitter: Rodney Sanders
Heat race winners: Terry Phillips, Chad Simpson, Don Shaw, Todd Frank
Consolation race winners: John Anderson, Kyle Berck
Next series race: September 5, Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728