Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/26/2024 00:47:49

Sponsor 743
September 24
Tri-City Speedway,
Granite City, IL
Sanction: DIRTcar Racing (non-touring) (Summit Mod Mania) - $2,000
Information provided by: Track and staff reports (last updated September 25, 12:54 pm)
Simpson tops Feger in Tri-City weekend opener
Summit Mod Mania
  1. Chris Simpson
  2. Jason Feger
  3. Gordy Gundaker
  4. Michael Kloos
  5. Rusty Schlenk
  6. Billy Laycock
  7. Rickey Frankel
  8. Trevor Gundaker
  9. Tim Manville
  10. Cody Bauer
  11. Mark Voigt
  12. Matt Bailey
  13. Blaze Burwell
  14. Mark Rose
  15. Rusty Griffaw
  16. Scott Henseler
  17. Jeremy Conaway
  18. Daryn Klein
  19. Josh Heuiser
  20. Mike Fenton
  21. Blake Bailey
  22. James Miller
presented by
Jimmy Dearing/stlracingphotos.com
Chris Simpson (32) went by Jason Feger (25) on the 18th lap.
What won the race: Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, overtook Jason Feger on the 18th lap Thursday at Tri-City Speedway and pulled away on a late-race restart to capture a $2,000 victory. Simpson crossed the finish line 1.312 seconds ahead of Feger to win the 30-lapper on the first of three nights of racing at the St. Louis-area track.
Key notes: Third-running Daryn Klein got too high coming off turn four on the 27th lap and the rear of his car clipped the wall, sending him nose first into the wall at the top of the frontstretch as his car twirled in the air in a rollover wreck. He wasn't hurt but the car suffered significant damage. ... Simpson earned his second Late Model victory of the season. His first came in Lucas Oil MLRA action at Maquoketa (Iowa) Speedway on June 27. … The high-running Feger outjumped the pole-starting Klein at the green and led 17 laps before Simpson moved ahead. ... Simpson stretched his lead to nearly two seconds, but heavy traffic allowed Feger to close the gap late. ... Jeremy Conaway spun early just in front of the leaders. ... The final caution caution flew with three laps remaining setting up a dash to the checkers, but Simpson pulled away on the restart. … His own powerplants unavailable, Rusty Griffaw drove the Ken Estes-owned No. 26 normally driven by Matt Zimmerly. ... Kaeden Cornell, scheduled to start seventh, scratched from the feature lineup.
On the move: Tim Manville of Troy, Ill., started 23rd and finished ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Simpson’s MB Customs Race Car is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and sponsored by Cheap Cars, Five Star Shop Service, Randy Davidson Trucking, Nutrien Ag Solutions, Hoker Trucking, Superior Cleaning, Allgaier Performance, Chase Decals, Simpson Farms, IITI and Lucas Oil.
Points chase: Billy Laycock of Marine, Ill., leads the Tri-City points race.
Current weather: Clear, 59°F
Car count: 23
Fast qualifier: Daryn Klein
Time: 14.341 seconds
Polesitter: Daryn Klein
Heat race winners: Daryn Klein, Jason Feger, Chris Simpson
Editor's note: Corrects winner's chassis manufacturer.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Klein, Feger
Row 2: Simpson, Kloos
Row 3: Schlenk, Frankel
Row 4: Cornell, G. Gundaker
Row 5: Laycock, Voigt
Row 6: T. Gundaker, Bauer
Row 7: Griffaw, M. Bailey
Row 8: Rose, Conaway
Row 9: Burwell, Henseler 
Row 10: Fenton, Miller
Row 11: B. Bailey, Heuiser
Row 12: Manville 

Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information