Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/24/2022 20:25:38

Sponsor 743
September 17
Marshalltown Speedway,
Marshalltown, IA
Sanction: IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series (Dale DeFrance Memorial) - $2,619
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated September 18, 2:08 pm)
Aikey rules last-ever Deery race at Marshalltown
Dale DeFrance Memorial
  1. Jeff Aikey
  2. Matt Ryan
  3. Justin Kay
  4. Gary Webb
  5. Darrel DeFrance
  6. Dave Wada
  7. Andy Nezworski
  8. Ben Seemann
  9. Logan Duffy
  10. Curtis Glover
  11. Greg Kastli
  12. Joe Zrostlik
  13. Bobby Hansen
  14. Jill George
  15. Curt Schroeder
  16. Curt Martin
  17. Joel Callahan
  18. Darin Duffy
  19. Eric Pollard
  20. Shawn Cooney
  21. Richie Gustin
  22. Kyle Krampe
presented by
Bill Martin
Jeff Aikey claimed his series-best 71st Deery Brothers win Thursday at Marshalltown.
What won the race: Holding off the field after a caution flew with six-to-go, race-long pacesetter Jeff Aikey of Cedar Falls, Iowa, cruised to the Dale DeFrance Memorial victory Thursday at Marshalltown Speedway. Aikey earned $2,619 as — fittingly — inaugural tour champion and winningest series driver won the long-awaiting final race on IMCA's Deery Brothers Summer Series.
Quotable: "Boy I tell you what, I have had a hell of a career in the Deery Brothers Summer Series." Aikey said. "I'd just like to thank the DeFrance family, I tell you what, they put on a hell of a show tonight. Thirty-one cars here, that's impressive. Hate to see it go, hopefully somebody else will get something going around here for the IMCA cars."
Key notes: Jeff Aikey shot out to a comfortable lead until a flat right-front tire for Curt Martin brought out a caution on lap-38. … Aikey kept Matt Ryan and Justin Kay at bay in the final laps to secure his 71st career series win. … The twice-postponed race is the last event on the series that last December was acquired by Joe Kosiski, who rebirthed the tour as the Hoker Trucking Series. ... The race honored the father of series competitor Darrel DeFrance, the only driver with perfect attendance in the history of the 33-year-old tour. … Darrel DeFrance completed his perfect series attendance streak at his hometown track. … Marshalltown hosts the IMCA World Nationals on Friday and Saturday (no Late Models).
On the move: Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, started 17th and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Aikey’s Rick Dralle-owned Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Red’s Limo Service, RE/MAX Home Group Rick Bauer, Simon’s Trucking, CRE, NXT Bank and Aschenbrenner Trucking.
Points chase: Darrel DeFrance (320 points) won the Marshalltown title over Logan Duffy (317), Curtis Clover (288), Shawn Cooney (283) and Jill George (280).
Current weather: Clear, 54°F
Car count: 31
Polesitter: Gary Webb
Heat race winners: Richie Gustin, Logan Duffy, Andy Eckrich
Consolation race winners: Curtis Glover
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Webb, Wada
Row 2: Aikey, George
Row 3: Ryan, L. Duffy
Row 4: Callahan, Martin
Row 5: Gustin, Eckrich
Row 6: Cooney, DeFrance
Row 7: Krampe, D. Duffy
Row 8: Nezworski, Seemann
Row 9: Kay, Zrostlik
Row 10: Glover, Kastli
Row 11: Pollard, Schroeder
Row 12: Marolf, Hansen
Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728