Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1235
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/24/2022 20:09:23

Sponsor 743
September 12
Gondik Law Speedway,
Superior, WI
Sanction: WISSOTA special events (non-touring) (Russ Laursen Late Model Classic) - $5,190
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated September 13, 8:31 am)
Red-hot Doar dominates Laursen Classic
Russ Laursen Late Model Classic
  1. Pat Doar
  2. Jimmy Mars
  3. Steve Laursen
  4. Darrell Nelson
  5. Travis Budisalovich
  6. James Giossi
  7. Marshall Fegers
  8. John Kaanta
  9. Derek Vesel
  10. Terry Lillo
  11. Mike Prochnow
  12. Tim McMann
  13. Clint Larson
  14. Sam Mars
  15. Joe Kienzle
  16. Keith Niemi
  17. Jody Bellefeuille
  18. Chris Lillo
  19. Deven VanHouse
  20. Rick Hanestad
  21. Kevin Carlson
presented by
Tom Krob/shooterguyphotos.com
Pat Doar emerges in victory lane at Gondik Law Speedway.
What won the race: Pole-starting Pat Doar of New Richmond, Wis., stretched his personal winning streak to three with a $5,190 victory in Saturday's Russ Laursen Late Model Classic at Gondik Law Speedway. Doar led all 40 laps and took the checkers 0.697 seconds ahead of fifth-starting Jimmy Mars.
Key notes: Before his victory in Superior's richest race for WISSOTA Late Models, Doar swept the previous weekend's Labor Day Shootout at Hibbing (Minn.) Raceway, earning $5,500. ... Thirteen drivers completed 40 laps. ... Buddy Hanestad scratched from the Superior's feature. ... Travis Budisalovich and Doar won Friday's dashes following heat race action. ... The return of the Russ Laursen Late Model Classic was part of the 32nd annual Northern Nationals. ... The event, originally for Late Model and sprints beginning in 1970 after Laursen's death. ... Laursen, the father of veteran Late Model racer Steve Laursen, was a winner of more than 500 features in multiple divisions. ... Bay Lock & Security was the two-day event's presenting sponsor.
On the move: Darrell Nelson of Hermantown, Minn., started 11th and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Doar's Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Tri Star Engines & Transmissions, Kivi Bros. Trucking and Speedwerx.
Points chase: Deven VanHouse of Silver Bay, Minn., captured Superior's track championship over Travis Budisalovich and Derek Vesel.
Current weather: Overcast, 61°F
Car count: 24
Polesitter: Pat Doar
Heat race winners: Steve Laursen, Travis Budisalovich, John Kaanta, Rick Hanestad, Marshall Fegers, James Giossi
Editor's note: Corrects winner's purse and dash winners.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Doar, VanHouse
Row 2: R. Hanestad, Giossi
Row 3: J. Mars, Laursen
Row 4: S. Mars, Kaanta
Row 5: Budisalovich, Fegers
Row 6: Nelson, Vesel
Row 7: T. Lillo, McMann
Row 8: Simonson, Eder
Row 9: Prochnow, Niemi
Row 10: Bellefeuille, Carlson
Row 11: B. Hanestad, Larson
Row 12: C. Lillo, Kienzle

Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728