Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/30/2023 15:42:25

Sponsor 743
September 6
Cherokee Speedway,
Gaffney, SC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series (Hall of Fame 50) - $7,500
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated September 7, 10:30 pm)
Kirkpatrick nabs first Carolina Clash victory
Hall of Fame 50
  1. Austin Kirkpatrick
  2. Brandon Overton
  3. Ross Bailes
  4. John Henderson
  5. Chris Madden
  6. Dennis Franklin
  7. Michael Brown
  8. Brent Dixon
  9. Brett Hamm
  10. Ben Watkins
  11. Christian Thomas
  12. Cla Knight
  13. Nick Schlager
  14. Trent Ivey
  15. Larry Grube
  16. David Yandle
  17. Brent Larson
  18. Anthony Sanders
  19. Chris Ferguson
  20. Johnny Pursley
  21. Travis Stoner
  22. Adam Yarbrough
presented by
Gene Lefler
Austin Kirkpatrick steers his self-designed car to victory.
What won the race: Scoring his first Carolina Clash victory in flag-to-flag fashion, Austin Kirkpatrick of Ocala, Fla., outran one of the nation’s hottest drivers and the rest of the 22-car field at Cherokee Speedway for a $7,500 Hall of Fame 50 victory. Kirkpatrick drove a self-designed chassis to the checkers 1.917 seconds ahead of Brandon Overton, fresh off a World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model Series two-race sweep.
Quotable: “I had to make up for my lack of driving talent by making a pretty good race car,” Kirkpatrick said. “I mean, this thing is so frigging fast. I can’t even put into words how excited I am. Nobody saw the two years I spent toiling away in my garage building this car from a rack of metal of tubes. Every single bit of this car is a piece of me. Every bit of race car understanding that I’ve developed over my 27-year-old life is baked into this car, and for it to be so fast, is just the most satisfying feeling that you can ever imagine."
Key notes: Kirkpatrick became the tour's 79th winner. ... Four cautions slowed the race. ... Travis Stoner spun in turn four for a lap-16 caution. ... Another caution appeared on lap 34 when Anthony Sanders stopped in turn four. ... Lap 44 (Cla Knight) and lap 47 (Trent Ivey) cautions fell for flat tires. ... Brent Larson's car flamed up under the hood during hot laps; he rolled to the infield where safety personnel doused the fire without him getting out of the car.
Winner's sponsors: The winner’s AK Race Car is sponsored by Hitman Racing Suspension.
Points chase: Leaving Cherokee, Dennis Franklin (516 points) of Gaffney, S.C., leads Michael Brown (503) and David Yandle (464) in Carolina Clash points.
Current weather: Clear, 64°F
Car count: 22
Fast qualifier: Brandon Overton
Time: 15.037 seconds
Polesitter: Brandon Overton
Next series race: September 15, Laurens County Speedway (Laurens, SC) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information