Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1235
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/07/2022 14:09:23

Sponsor 743
September 6
Atomic Speedway,
Alma, OH
Sanction: Unsanctioned special events - $6,700
Information provided by: Kelley Carlton and track reports (last updated September 7, 8:38 pm)
Gilpin collects $6,700 victory at Atomic
  1. Devin Gilpin
  2. Freddie Carpenter
  3. Jared Hawkins
  4. Andy Bond
  5. Devin Moran
  6. Ryan Markham
  7. Rod Conley
  8. Brandon Francis
  9. Dave Hornikel
  10. Travis Carr
  11. Anthony Kinkade
  12. Chris Lockhart
  13. Jerry Gibson III
  14. Kody Evans
  15. Tristan Chamberlain
  16. Ralph Withem
  17. Duane Chamberlain
  18. Steve Casebolt
  19. Ryan Missler
  20. R.J. Conley
presented by
Tyler Carr
Devin Gilpin takes the checkers for his $6,700 victory.
What won the race: Inheriting the lead when polesitter Devin Moran pitted with a flat tire on lap 18, Devin Gilpin of Columbus, Ind., raced to the $6,700 victory Sunday at Atomic Speedway ahead of Freddie Carpenter and Jared Hawkins.
Quotable: “I think we hit on something right there. We’ve just been throwing stuff at it and the car finally reacted to it. It took off real well,” Gilpin said. “This car has been hit or miss. I’ve ran good and won a couple of big races, and struggled at local shows."
Key notes: Gilpin notched his third and richest Late Model victory of the season. ... He previously won two specials at Brownstown (Ind.) Speedway. ... Steve Casebolt was running second in the early going when he spun between turns three and four. ... Fast qualifier R.J. Conley was disqualified for retaliating against second-running Kody Evans during a caution period. ... A flat tire later knocked Evans from contention. ... Runner-up Freddie Carpenter got the second spot with a slide job on lap 19 that gained two positions. ... The Late Models were on the same card as the 11th annual King of Compacts, an $8,000-to-win event for SCDRA sport compacts. ... Atomic is scheduled to host a $10,000-to-win special Sept. 12.
On the move: Winner Devin Gilpin started eighth; third-place finisher Jared Hawkins of Fairmont, W.Va., started 10th.
Winner's sponsors: Gilpin’s Rocket Chassis is powered by a Jay Dickens Racing Engine and sponsored by Indsoltech, Jason Clarkson Logging, South Central Roofing, Dasco Race Supply, Blondie's Pizzeria & Pub, Freedom Fireworks, RJ Recycling, Right Auto Parts, Browns Oil Services, Weimiller Express, Arizona Sport Shirts, Accu-Force, KBC Graphix, Delph Communications, Beyea Headers and Eddie Gilstrap Motors.
Points chase: Entering the event, Steve Casebolt of Richmond, Ind., led Atomic’s standings.
Car count: 27
Fast qualifier: R.J. Conley
Time: 14.038 seconds
Polesitter: Devin Moran
Heat race winners: R.J. Conley, Devin Moran, Freddie Carpenter
Consolation race winners: Ralph Withem
Editor's note: Updates winner’s sponsors.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Moran, R.J. Conley
Row 2: Carpenter, Casebolt
Row 3: D. Chamberlain, Ro. Conley
Row 4: Bond, Gilpin
Row 5: Evans, Hawkins
Row 6: Markham, Hornikel
Row 7: Kinkaid, Missler
Row 8: Withem, Carr
Row 9: T. Chamberlain, Gibson
Row 10: Lockhart
Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728