Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/16/2024 10:13:58

Sponsor 743
September 6
Randolph County Raceway,
Moberly, MO
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Scottie 46) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated September 7, 1:20 am)
MLRA triumph nets Gustin $6,000 at Moberly
Scottie 46
  1. Ryan Gustin
  2. Garrett Alberson
  3. Jeremiah Hurst
  4. Justin Duty
  5. Tony Toste
  6. Mason Oberkramer
  7. Jason Papich
  8. Jeremy Conaway
  9. Reid Millard
  10. Brennon Willard
  11. Richard Kimberling
  12. Jeff Herzog
  13. Scott Crigler
  14. Aaron Marrant
  15. Daniel Hilsabeck
  16. Jeremy Grady
  17. Payton Looney
  18. Darek Wiss
  19. Kayden Clatt
  20. Chad Simpson
  21. Kaeden Cornell
  22. Skip Frey
presented by
Todd Boyd/photosbyboyd.smugmug.com
Ryan Gustin heads to victory at Randolph County Raceway.
What won the race: Inheriting the lead from race-long pacesetter Chad Simpson on lap 38, Ryan Gustin of Marshalltown, Iowa, led the remaining eight circuits to earn $5,000 for capturing Sunday’s Scottie 46 at Randolph County Raceway. The victory was his first this season and the ninth of his career on the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association.
Quotable: “I kept riding up behind Chad and I could see his stuff was corded, so I didn’t know how much I had left,” Gustin said. “No matter what happened I was just going to let him go and try to stay close enough so (Simpson’s crew chief Gus) Farmer would keep his sticks together and keep the pressure on him, and he did. Tire management is all it was. I have raced a lot in the rubber in my career and it paid off.”
Key notes: Gustin notched his first Late Model victory since an MLRA victory last October at Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Mo. ... Gustin’s triumph was a one position improvement from his second-place finish in MLRA’s season opener on June 12 at Randolph County. ... Roberts Motorsports teammates Garrett Alberson and Jeremiah Hurst finished second and third, respectively; Alberson gave thanks for his runner-up finish to Nebraska veteran Al Humphrey, who loaned his team an engine for the weekend. … With Justin Duty and Tony Toste finishing fourth and fifth, respectively, all four drivers following Gustin across the finish line were MLRA Rookie of the Year contenders. … Simpson was the third driver to slow with a flat tire on lap 38, joining Jason Papich and Tony Jackson Jr. … MLRA points leader Payton Looney retired on lap 28 while running fourth due to apparent engine issues. … Chad Simpson finished 20th after relinquishing the lead due to a flat tire. ... Seven caution flags slowed the race, including five between laps 28-38. ... The event was originally slated for Quincy (Ill.) Raceway, but Covid-19 restrictions forced promoters to move their 2020 slate of action to the once idle Moberly facility.
On the move: Jeremiah Hurst of Dubuque, Iowa, started 14th and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Gustin’s Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Tri Star Engines and Transmissions, VP Racing Fuels and Ramirez Motorsports.
Points chase: Payton Looney's lead in the MLRA standings fell to 57 points over Chad Simpson and 77 points on Jeremiah Hurst.
Current weather: Clear, 81°F
Car count: 24
Fast qualifier: Payton Looney
Time: 16.811 seconds
Polesitter: Chad Simpson
Heat race winners: Chad Simpson, Jason Papich, Ryan Gustin
Next series race: October 9, Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO) $3,000
Editor's note: Correct winner’s purse.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Simpson, Papich
Row 2: Gustin, Looney
Row 3: Marrant, Crigler
Row 4: Jackson Jr., Alberson
Row 5: Duty, Grady
Row 6: Toste, Hilsabeck
Row 7: Conaway, Hurst
Row 8: Oberkramer, Cornell
Row 9: Kimberling, Herzog
Row 10: Queen, Willard
Row 11: Clatt, Wiss
Row 12: Frey, Millard
Sponsor 1269
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information