Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/21/2021 09:13:30

Sponsor 743
August 30
Lucas Oil Speedway,
Wheatland, MO
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (G2 Gemini Shootout) - $3,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated August 31, 1:49 pm)
Wild one returns Jackson to MLRA victory lane
G2 Gemini Shootout
  1. Tony Jackson Jr.
  2. Jack Sullivan
  3. Jesse Stovall
  4. Mark Burgtorf
  5. Chad Simpson
  6. Terry Phillips
  7. John Anderson
  8. Jason Bodenhamer
  9. Brandon Morton
  10. Brandon McCormick
  11. Dave Eckrich
  12. Anthony Burroughs
  13. Bill Koons
  14. Scott Lewis
  15. Travis Dickes
  16. Jeremy Payne
  17. Will Vaught
  18. Justin Asplin
  19. Austin Siebert
  20. Ryan Gustin
  21. Jason Hughes
  22. Tommy Weder Jr.
  23. Josh Hughes
  24. Brantlee Gotschall
  25. Ethan Young
presented by
Todd Boyd
Tony Jackson Jr. takes the checkers in Wheatland, Mo.
What won the race: Coming forward from the 11th starting spot, reigning series champion Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo., wrestled the lead from Will Vaught of Crane, Mo., on the 34th lap. While Vaught's left-rear tire was cut down and he finished 17th, Jackson went on his first MLRA victory of the 2014 season in a chaotic 40-lapper that saw many risers and fallers.
Quotable: "I got a lot of respect for Will. I was catching him in lapped traffic. He didn't look like he was as maneuverable as I was. I was running the bottom. He just kind of made a last-minute decision to get down there," Jackson said. "I tired to stay off of him. In the next turn he got beside me and I give him a lot of room, cause I felt like, I didn't want him to feel like that's how I won the race."
Key notes: Polesitter Justin Asplin of Birch Tree, Mo., led the opening lap but was an early retiree. ... Jackson climbed into the top five on the eighth lap and took second on lap 18. ... Second-finishing Jack Sullivan of Greenbrier, Ark., started 18th, while third-finishing Jesse Stovall improved from 14th. ... MLRA title contenders Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, and Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., started 17th and 24th and took the checkered flag running fifth and sixth. ... Jackson earned his fifth career series victory; his previous four came in 2013. ... The Midwestern tour's final events are Oct. 10-11 in Wheatland.
On the move: Outside of the winning Jackson, who started 11th, all of the other top-seven finishers started 14th or worse.
Winner's sponsors: Jackson drives a Rocket Chassis powered by a Cornett Racing Engine with support from Eibach Springs, Hoosier Midwest, Keyser Manufacturing, Midwest Sheet Metal, Phil Harris Motorsports, RLB Financials, TJR Motorsports and Willard Quarries.
Points chase: Simpson exits Wheatland with a 71-point edge over Phillips; Scott Lewis of Henderson, Colo., has clinched Rookie of the Year honors.
Car count: 34
Polesitter: Justin Asplin
Heat race winners: Justin Asplin, Will Vaught, Anthony Burroughs, Scott Lewis
Consolation race winners: Chad Simpson
Provisional starters: Tommy Weder Jr., Terry Phillips, Ethan Young
Next series race: October 10, Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728