Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/24/2024 01:40:36

Sponsor 743
September 5
300 Raceway,
Farley, IA
Sanction: Malvern Bank Series (Yankee Dirt Track Classic ) - $10,000
Information provided by: Series, track and team reports (last updated September 9, 4:15 pm)
Rauen hometown winner in $10,000 Yankee
Yankee Dirt Track Classic
  1. Jason Rauen
  2. Bill Leighton Jr.
  3. Jeff Tharp
  4. Cory Dumpert
  5. Justin Zeitner
  6. Richie Gustin
  7. Darin Duffy
  8. Charlie McKenna
  9. Matt Ryan
  10. Andy Nezworski
  11. Dave Eckrich
  12. Tad Pospisil
  13. Jason Hahne
  14. Curt Schroeder
  15. Curt Martin
  16. Kyle Berck
  17. Joel Callahan
  18. Corey Zeitner
  19. Chris Simpson
  20. Ben Schaller
  21. Jeff Aikey
  22. Jason O'Brien
  23. Justin Kay
  24. Andrew Kosiski
  25. Andy Eckrich
  26. Darrel DeFrance
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Jason Rauen takes the checkered flag at 300 Raceway for a $10,000 triumph.
What won the race: Polesitter and hometown driver Jason Rauen turned back late-race challenges from fellow front-row starter Bill Leighton Jr. for a $10,000 victory in the 43rd annual Yankee Dirt Track Classic. Leading every lap in a race with a two-hour delay when the track lights failed, Rauen won by 0.717 seconds in the event co-sanctioned by the Malvern Bank and Hoker Trucking tours of Joe Kosiski.
Quotable: “Any win is special, but to win one here at my home track, means a lot to me,” Rauen said. “Thanks to all the fans for who stayed with us through that delay when the lights went out. Hopefully that race was worth it. Also, thanks to all of my great sponsors for their continued support.”
Key notes: Rauen won his second career Malvern Bank Super Late Model Series victory; his first came Sept. 14, 2019, at Knoxville (Iowa) Raceway. ... Three cautions slowed the action at Farley, including for Jeff Aikey's lap-18 spin at the turn-four exit (he showed his displeasure with Corey Zeitner during the ensuing caution). ... Also during the caution, the track's lights went out and weren't repaired for nearly two hours. Rauen went right back to work when the race restarted and fought off runner-up Bill Leighton, who was within a tenth of a second of the leader with five laps remaining. ... Track champion Eric Pollard won the Auto Acres non-qualifers’ race and passed on a chance to start the feature, taking purse money instead. .... The 50-50 pot paid $1,957 and the winner, from Burlington, Iowa, put up $500 for a hard charger award in the main event. ... Justin Zeitner won Friday's $3,000-to-win tuneup.
On the move: Justin Zeitner of Malvern, Iowa, started 12th and finished fifth; Richie Gustin of Gilman, Iowa, started 16th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Rauen’s Capital Race Car is sponsored by Arnie Ranta Motorsports, Rauen Precision Machining, Tegerly Body & Frame, PPG Paints, Truck Country, BacklotAuctions.com, driveEtch.com and Dirt Track Bank.
Points chase: Entering the weekend, Tad Pospisil of Norfolk, Neb., led Malvern Bank and Hoker Trucking tour standings.
Current weather: Clear, 66°F
Car count: 41
Fast qualifier: Tad Pospisil
Time: 15.768 seconds
Polesitter: Jason Rauen
Heat race winners: Justin Zeitner, Richie Gustin, Bill Leighton Jr., Corey Zeitner, Cory Dumpert
Consolation race winners: Charlie McKenna, Dave Eckrich, Andy Eckrich
Provisional starters: Kyle Berck, Justin Kay, Darrel DeFrance, Curt Schroeder
Next series race: September 12, I-80 Speedway (Greenwood, NE) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Rauen, Leighton
Row 2: Schaller, Tharp
Row 3: C. Zeitner, Pospisil
Row 4: Dumpert, Aikey
Row 5: D. Duffy, Ryan
Row 6: Martin, J. Zeitner
Row 7: Callahan, Chr. Simpson
Row 8: Hahne, Ri. Gustin
Row 9: McKenna, Da. Eckrich
Row 10: A. Eckrich, Nezworski
Row 11: O'Brien, A. Kosiski
Row 12: Berck, Kay
Row 13: DeFrance, Schroeder

Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information