Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/21/2021 06:51:08

Sponsor 743
August 29
Boyd's Speedway,
Ringgold, GA
Sanction: Unsanctioned special events (National Boiler Service 50) - $3,000
Information provided by: Richard Allen (last updated August 30, 6:30 am)
Johnson wins first leg of Labor Day Triple Crown
National Boiler Service 50
  1. Ronnie Johnson
  2. Riley Hickman
  3. Ivedent Lloyd Jr.
  4. Jamie Perry
  5. Mike Tinker
  6. Jake Knowles
  7. Dylan Ames
  8. David Payne
  9. Lucas Burns
  10. A.J. Ferguson
  11. Brad Skinner
  12. Ellery Leake
  13. Blake Shapiro
  14. Jay Scott
  15. Rick Hixson
  16. Skip Arp
  17. Ray Cook
  18. Josh Putnam
  19. Todd Morrow
  20. Robert Gant
  21. Bobby Giffin
  22. Dale Thurman
  23. Chris Wilson
presented by
Connie Putnam/photobyconnie.com
Runner-up Riley Hickman (left) congratuates Ronnie Johnson.
What won the race: Second-running Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., inherited the lead on lap 31 when race leader Ray Cook of Brasstown, N.C., retired with mechanical issues. Piloting the Austin Trucking GRT Race Car, Johnson led the remaining distance for a $3,000 victory over Riley Hickman.
Key notes: Cook's car stripped a spool in the rear end. ... The race was slowed by five cautions. ... Sixth-running Josh Putnam tangled with Bobby Giffin to draw a caution on lap 21. ... Todd Morrow slowed on the racetrack for a lap-28 yellow. ... Another yellow flew on lap 31 for Ray Cook when he slowed with mechanical issues. ... A turn-three pileup drew a caution on lap 33. ... The final yellow flew on lap 36 for a two-car tangle at the tail of the field. ... Friday's feature event was shortened to 40 laps because of time constraints. ... The program was initially delayed due to a scoring system glitch and there was no dash or redraw. ... It was the first race of a Steve Hixson-organized weekend of $3,000-to-win, $300-to-start Super Late Model 50-lappers. ... Saturday's action moves to Fort Payne (Ala.) Motor Speedway and Sunday's action to Duck River Raceway Park in Wheel, Tenn. ... Jason Welshan was the winner of the Crate Late Model event. ... Among Super Late Model drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Derek Ellis, Andy Picklesimer, Seth McCormack, Tyler Adams, Rex Richey, Heath Hindman, Josh Adkins, Craig Currows, Tod Hernandez and Mario Gresham.
Winner's sponsors: Johnson drove the Vinson-powered No. A19 GRT Race Car sponsored by Austin Trucking, Tindell Carpet, KC Graphics, Triple A Farms and Gene's Auto Parts.
Points chase: In weekly points at Boyd's, Tod Hernandez leads the Limited Late Model division over Mike Tinker. Danny Turner leads the track's Crate Late Model points.
Car count: 44
Fast qualifier: Josh Putnam
Time: 13.995 seconds
Polesitter: Josh Putnam
Consolation race winners: Rick Hixson, Todd Morrow,  
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728