Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/24/2022 21:44:30

Sponsor 743
September 3
Farmer City Raceway,
Farmer City, IL
Sanction: MARS Racing Series (Farmer City 74) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated September 4, 6:17 pm)
Pierce cruises, dominates Farmer City 74 opener
Farmer City 74
  1. Bobby Pierce
  2. Ryan Unzicker
  3. Ryan Gustin
  4. Shannon Babb
  5. Billy Moyer
  6. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  7. Tim Manville
  8. Jason Feger
  9. Mike Spatola
  10. Bob Gardner
  11. Mitch McGrath
  12. Taylor Scheffler
  13. Eric Smith
  14. Steven Roberts
  15. Jason Wagner
  16. Mike Glasscock
  17. Kevin Weaver
  18. McKay Wenger
  19. Scott James
  20. Rich Bell
  21. Allen Weisser
  22. Donny Walden
presented by
Tyler Carr
Bobby Pierce enjoys victory lane in Farmer City's weekend opener.
What won the race: Building a half-track lead in a dominating performance, pole-starting Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., cruised to a 40-lap victory on the opening night of the Farmer City 74. He led every lap for a $5,000 MARS Racing Series victory by more than three seconds over runner-up Ryan Unzicker.
Quotable: “Yeah I didn’t want to see that caution at all,” said Pierce. “Just the fact that I couldn’t see my (signal) guys I didn’t want to restart because I knew (in) turn one and two I was struggling. I was alright in (turns) three and four as long as I didn’t charge the corner too hard. This track was slick, super slick, so shoutout to my dad for building a good car.”
Key notes: Pierce notched his second MARS victory of the season and 10th of his career. ... Second-running Jason Feger tried to sneak under Pierce on a lap-34 restart but ran out of room in turn one and spun after contact with Pierce and an infield tire. ... Feger ended up eighth, the last driver on the lead lap. .... Frank Heckenast Jr.'s turn-two spin before that drew the race's only other caution. ... DIRTCar Summer Nationals champion Brian Shirley lost a motor in hot laps and scratched for the night.
On the move: Ryan Gustin of Marshalltown, Iowa, started eighth and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Pierce’s Pierce Race Car is sponsored by Hoker Trucking, Allgayer Inc., Premier Waste Services, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Carnaghi Towing, Viper Risk Management, Extreme Electric, First Spear, Quality Paint & Body, Leka Tree Service, Advanced Suspension and Allstar Performance.
Points chase: Entering the weekend, Brian Shirley and Frank Heckenast Jr. were tied atop the MARS standings with 249 points, followed by Ryan Unzicker (195), Jason Feger (183) and Rich Bell (153).
Current weather: Clear, 68°F
Car count: 29
Fast qualifier: Taylor Scheffler
Time: 12.989 seconds
Polesitter: Bobby Pierce
Heat race winners: Jason Feger, Billy Moyer, Bobby Pierce, Shannon Babb
Consolation race winners: Eric Smith
Next series race: September 4, Farmer City Raceway (Farmer City, IL) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Pierce, Feger
Row 2: Babb, Moyer
Row 3: Unzicker, Manville
Row 4: Gardner, Gustin
Row 5: Spatola, Scheffler
Row 6: Wenger, McGrath
Row 7: Weaver, Heckenast
Row 8: Wagner, James
Row 9: Smith, Walden
Row 10: Roberts, Glasscock
Row 11: Bell, Weisser

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728