Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/25/2023 18:12:57

Sponsor 743
August 29
Beckley Motor Speedway,
Beckley, WV
Sanction: Fastrak Racing Series (Randy Thurman Memorial) - $3,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated August 30, 8:19 pm)
Compton wins Fastrak's weekend opener
Randy Thurman Memorial
  1. Kennie Compton Jr.
  2. Dennis Franklin
  3. Tim Dohm
  4. Rick Williams
  5. Chris Meadows
  6. Matt Long
  7. Ron Parker
  8. Erin Barley
  9. Derek Rogers
  10. David Smith
  11. Shane Greco
  12. Joel Prosser
  13. Tyler Cox
  14. Corey Gordon
  15. Taylor Hicks
  16. Teddy Tate
  17. Nick Dohm
  18. Rick Solari
  19. Eric Bennett
  20. Dylan Brown
  21. Tyler Carpenter
  22. T.J. Salango
  23. Eddie Hambrick
  24. Ted Johnson Jr.
presented by
Tara Chavez/peepingdragonphotography.com
Kennie Compton Jr. takes the checkers at Beckley.
What won the race: Outside front-row starter Kennie Compton Jr. of Bland, Va., grabbed a $3,000 victory at Beckley Motor Speedway, taking the checkers less than a second ahead of polesitter Dennis "Rambo" Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., in the 40-lapper
Quotable: "I knew Rambo was coming. I knew he was there," Compton said. "The spotter kept telling me he was getting closer and closer. I was trying to hold on. The car kept getting looser and looser and I was bouncing off the cushion up there, just hoping I could hold him off."
Key notes: Compton won the previous week's regular-season Crate Late Model feature. ... Thirteen of 24 starters completed 40 laps. ... David Smith of Inman, S.C., spun in turn four for first caution. ... Eric Bennett, Eddie Hambrack and T.J. Salango were among others involved in early cautions. ... Eight cars were invovled in a lap-five pileup. ... Tyler Cox and Derek Rogers tangled on the 36th lap. ... The first of three nights of Fastrak touring Crate Late Model action paying $3,000-to-win and $275-to-start. ... Wythe Raceway in Rural Retreat, Va., and Princeton (W.Va.) Speedway host Saturday and Sunday events.
On the move: Hometown driver Rick Williams started 10th and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Compton's Bloomquist Race Car is sponsored by Appalachian Leasing, Consolidated Steel, KC Transport and W&B Fabricators.
Points chase: Prior to Friday's event, David Smith of Inman, S.C., led Fastrak Southeast standings by eight points over Corey Gordon.
Car count: 35
Fast qualifier: Chris Meadows
Time: 14.793 seconds
Polesitter: Dennis Franklin
Heat race winners: Dennis Franklin, Kennie Compton Jr., Tim Dohm, Chris Meadows
Consolation race winners: Derek Rogers, Nick Dohm
Provisional starters: Joel Prosser, Corey Gordon
Next series race: August 30, Wythe Raceway (Rural Retreat, VA) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information