Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/30/2023 15:55:16

Sponsor 743
September 3
ABC Raceway,
Ashland, WI
Sanction: WISSOTA special events (non-touring) (Prelude to the Clay) - $3,000
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated September 4, 6:17 pm)
Massingill edges Mars on final lap in ABC thriller
Prelude to the Clay
  1. Jeffrey Massingill
  2. Jimmy Mars
  3. Dan Ebert
  4. Jesse Glenz
  5. Kevin Eder
  6. Derek Vesel
  7. Rick Hanestad
  8. Jeff Provinzino
  9. Aaron Lillo
  10. Kyle Peterlin
  11. Buddy Hanestad
  12. Keith Niemi
  13. Chad Mahder
  14. Deven VanHouse
  15. Travis Budisalovich
  16. Clint Larson
  17. Joe Kienzle
  18. James Kannegiesser
  19. Steve Laursen
  20. Cole Provinzino
  21. Pat Doar
  22. Jody Bellefeuille
  23. John Kaanta
  24. Tim McMann
  25. Denny Cutsforth
  26. Tim Lillo
presented by
Tim Hunt
Jeffrey Massingill earned $3,000 for his Prelude to the Clay win.
What won the race: Sixth-row starter Jeffrey Massingill of Keewatin, Minn., overtook Jimmy Mars off the final corner Thursday at ABC Raceway for a $3,000 victory in the Prelude to the Clay. Massingill hugged the low groove exiting turn four on the final lap to edge the higher-running Mars by seven-hundredths of a second.
Key notes: Massingill scored his first victory of the season; his previous feature win came June 8, 2019, at Hibbing (Minn.) Raceway. ... Polesitter Dan Ebert led the first lap while outside front-row starter Steve Laursen led laps 2-27 before retiring. ... Jimmy Mars took over on lap 28 but Massingill overtook him on the white-flag lap. ... The Ashland Ford-Chrysler Prelude to the Clay opened of a four-race stretch for WISSOTA-sanctioned Late Models with an $8,000 points fund, with $2,000 going to the winner the Labor Day Weekend minitour. … The Platinum Racing Promotions miniseries is sponsored by Tri Star Engine & Transmissions Late Model Series and Quality Freight Rate. ... ABC's race served as a tuneup for the Red Clay Classic, the $5,000-to-win event scheduled for Oct. 2-3.
On the move: Winner Jeffrey Massingill started 12th; Kevin Eder of Ashland, Wis., started 19th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Massingill's Massingill Bros. Motorsports Krytonite Race Car is powered by a Tesar Racing Engine and sponsored by J&C Properties, JR Motorsports, Fox Shocks, #DirtTrackHustle and Trent Signs & Graphics.
Current weather: Scattered Clouds, 54°F
Car count: 27
Polesitter: Dan Ebert
Heat race winners: Jimmy Mars, Steve Laursen, Jesse Glenz, John Kaanta
Editor's note: Corrects winner’s chassis manufacturer.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Ebert, Laursen
Row 2: Budisalovich, Glenz
Row 3: Doar, Van House
Row 4: J. Mars, Kaanta
Row 5: A. Lillo, J. Provinzino
Row 6: R. Hanestad, Massingill
Row 7: McMann, Vesel
Row 8: Niemi, Bellefeuille
Row 9: Cutsforth, C. Provinzino
Row 10: Eder, Kannegiesser
Row 11: Larson, Peterlin
Row 12: Kienzle, B. Hanestad
Row 13: Mahder, T. Lillo
Row 14: S. Mars

Sponsor 1177
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information