Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/31/2023 05:24:28

Sponsor 743
August 29
Peoria Speedway,
Peoria, IL
Sanction: MARS Racing Series (Illinois State Championship ) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated August 30, 10:18 pm)
Shirley secures weekend sweep at Peoria
Illinois State Championship
  1. Brian Shirley
  2. Jeff Herzog
  3. Dennis Erb Jr.
  4. Todd Bennett
  5. Jason Feger
  6. Shannon Babb
  7. Charley Hess
  8. Ryan Gustin
  9. Mike Chasteen Jr.
  10. Jeremiah Hurst
  11. Myles Moos
  12. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  13. Jason Papich
  14. Ryan Unzicker
  15. Blaze Burwell
  16. Matt Murphy
  17. Bob Gardner
  18. Kolby Vandenbergh
  19. Roger Rebholz
  20. Billy Drake
  21. Curtis Radke
  22. Rich Bell
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Brian Shirley celebrates his $5,000 Illinois State Championship at Peoria.
What won the race: Running away with the weekend sweep in the MARS Racing Series doubleheader, polesitter Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., outran Jeff Herzog in Saturday night’s Illinois State Championship at Peoria Speedway. He pocketed a $5,000 payday for his 16th career series win.
Key notes: Shirley’s victory completed a weekend sweep in MARS action at Peoria, where he also captured Friday’s $5,000-to-win opener. … Shirley captured his second career Illinois State Championship. His first win came in 2018. He finished third last year. … There have been 38 different winners in Peoria's marquee event, which began in 1952. … Illinois drivers have now won 60 of the 66 Illinois State Championships … The series closes out it’s first year under the direction of Tony Izzo with a Labor Day Weekend tripleheader, with two $5,000-to-win races at Farmer City and a $10,000-to-win race at Fairbury.
Winner's sponsors: Shirley’s Bob Cullen Racing Rocket Chassis is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and sponsored by Thomason Express, Cheap Cars, KBX Graphix, Kid’s Castle Learning Center, Skateland South, Jayco Construction, Kim's Autobody, Vallejo and Popejoy.
Points chase: Entering the weekend, Frank Heckenast Jr. (145 points) of Frankfort, Ill., leads Bobby Pierce (125), Chris Simpson (120), Ryan Unzicker (103) and Daryn Klein (101).
Current weather: Clear, 61°F
Car count: 32
Fast qualifier: Ryan Gustin
Time: 12.229 seconds
Polesitter: Brian Shirley
Heat race winners: Brian Shirley, Todd Bennett, Dennis Erb Jr., Jeff Herzog
Next series race: September 3, Farmer City Raceway (Farmer City, IL) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Shirley, Herzog
Row 2: Bennett, Erb Jr.
Row 3: Feger, Hess
Row 4: Chasteen, Babb
Row 5: Gustin, Hurst
Row 6: Moos, Papich
Row 7: Heckenast, Gardner
Row 8: Unzicker, Bell
Row 9: Drake, Vandenbergh
Row 10: Rebholz, Murphy
Row 11: Radke, Burwell

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information