Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/31/2023 05:00:50

Sponsor 743
August 22
I-75 Raceway,
Sweetwater, TN
Sanction: Southern All Star Series (Dirt Slinger Classic) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated August 23, 1:24 pm)
McIntosh scores $5,000 SAS win at I-75
Dirt Slinger Classic
  1. Donald McIntosh
  2. David Webb
  3. Tyler Millwood
  4. Jason Hiett
  5. Jason Manley
  6. Logan Roberson
  7. Josh Richeson
  8. Mark Dodson
  9. Hudson O'Neal
  10. Billy Franklin
  11. John Ownbey
  12. Kyle Courtney
  13. David Crabtree
  14. Ray Cook
  15. Brandon Francis
  16. Zack Mitchell
  17. Justin Owens
  18. Jason Croft
  19. Riley Hickman
  20. Dusty Carver
  21. Heath Hindman
  22. Cory Hedgecock
  23. Bobby Giffin
  24. Tim Rucker
presented by
What won the race: Inheriting the lead when polesitter David Crabtree's car went up in smoke after 18 laps, fast qualifier Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga., raced to his second career series victory in Saturday's Dirt Slinger Classic at I-75 Raceway. Finishing ahead of David Webb and Tyler Millwood, McIntosh bagged $5,000.
Quotable: “A lot of luck,” McIntosh said of the key to his performance. “I’ll be honest with you, before we started the feature, after that hot-lap session, we parked up there and it wouldn’t even back up. We thought the ring-and-pinion was so sharp it wouldn’t back, so I figured we’d run three laps. (Crew chief) David (Bryant) said, ‘Ah, no, you’ll get 10 laps in.’ I was just waiting for it to break. Evidently it was just a ring gear bolt backed out or something.”
Key notes: McIntosh related afterward that the track surface was so "aggressive" that he was "out of breath" in victory lane. ... McIntosh's first career SAS victory came June 17, 2017, at Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, Tenn., the hometown track of his Blount Motorsports team. ... Hudson O'Neal of Martinsville, Ind., was running second and pressuring McIntosh when he blew a right-rear tire with six laps remaining. ... John Ownbey gave up the fourth spot with engine problems just past halfway. ... Virginia youngster Logan Roberson also contended but had a flat right-rear midrace. ... David Crabtree, last year's series winner at I-75, had a tight tussle with McIntosh early in the race but was leading comfortably when he slowed on the backstretch and retired with tell-tale smoke rising from his car. ... Riley Hickman's car rolled inside turn four early in the main event; no injuries were reported. ... A Billy Franklin turn-two spin collected Zack Mitchell. ... Rain delayed the program nearly two hours.
Winner's sponsors: McIntosh's Blount Motorsports Rocket Chassis is powered by a Vic Hill Racing Engine and sponsored by Stowers CAT Machinery, Blount Excavating, Massey Electric, Turner Hydraulics, Ole Ben Franklin Motors, Walker’s Truck Contractors and the Wine and Spirits Cellar.
Points chase: Entering the weekend, Billy Franklin of Calera, Ala., had 660 points to lead Mark Dodson (564) and Josh Putnam (508).
Current weather: Overcast, 73°F
Car count: 28
Fast qualifier: Donald McIntosh
Time: 12.441 seconds
Polesitter: David Crabtree
Consolation race winners: Ray Cook
Next series race: September 11, Oglethorpe Speedway Park (Savannah, GA) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information