Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/07/2022 10:29:06

Sponsor 743
August 15
Talladega Short Track,
Eastaboga, AL
Sanction: Southern All Star Series (Governor's Cup) - $10,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated August 16, 11:54 am)
Millwood dominates Governor's Cup at TST
Governor's Cup
  1. Tyler Millwood
  2. Dillon Tidmore
  3. Todd Morrow
  4. Jack Hale
  5. Donald McIntosh
  6. Heath Hindman
  7. Tim Busha
  8. Jason Hiett
  9. Justin Shipley
  10. Sam Seawright
  11. Zach Leonhardi
  12. Dallas Cooper
  13. Austin Smith
  14. Ronnie Johnson
  15. Kenny Collins
  16. Clint Smith
  17. Josh Putnam
  18. Austin Franklin
  19. Tim Roszell
  20. Billy Franklin
  21. Mark Dodson
  22. David Seibers
  23. Josh Adkins
  24. Brad Berry
  25. Michael Page
presented by
What won the race: Polesitter Tyler Millwood of Kingston, Ga., led all 60 laps of Saturday night’s Governor’s Cup at Talladega Short Track to capture his first career Southern All Star Series victory. Millwood took the checkers 1.383 seconds ahead of Dillon Tidmore to earn a career-high $10,000 payday.
Quotable: “Sometimes it’s just your night and you can’t do nothing wrong. The only we could’ve done better there was qualify on the pole," said Millwood, who was third-fastest in his qualifying group but later won a heat race. “We’ve had a good car ever since we got in these Rockets. We just needed to t do some fine-tuning. We finally found where it needed it to be.”
Key notes: Michael Page of Douglasville, Ga., was slated to start 10th but failed to complete a lap. … Brad Berry brought out the first caution of race on lap-15 with a flat right-rear tire, while fast qualifier Josh Adkins pulled off on lap-34. … The Southern All Stars Series made its first of two planned visits to Talladega Short Track this season for Saturday’s third annual Governor’s Cup. The series is scheduled to return to Talladega on Oct. 4 for a $4,000-to-win event. … The program also included the Southern All Stars Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies. The class of 2020 includes Ronnie Johnson, Clint Smith, Lynn "Preacher" Phillips, Alfred Gurley, Mickey and Mike Swims and Clyde Haynes.
On the move: Heath Hindman of Signal Mountain, Tenn., started 13th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Millwood's Millwood Motorsports Rocket Chassis has a Clements Engine and carries sponsorship from Millwood Plumbing, Machine Construction Company, On-Time Hauling, Glenncast Inc., Penske Shocks and Competition Race Equipment.
Points chase: Heading into the event, Billy Franklin of Calera, Ala., led the way in his quest for his first series title.
Current weather: Clear, 75°F
Car count: 40
Fast qualifier: Josh Adkins
Time: 13.434 seconds
Polesitter: Tyler Millwood
Heat race winners: Tyler Millwood, Todd Morrow, Jason Hiett, Jack Hale
Consolation race winners: Ronnie Johnson, Austin Smith
Provisional starters: Billy Franklin, Austin Franklin
Next series race: August 22, I-75 Raceway (Sweetwater, TN) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Millwood, Morrow
Row 2: Hiett, Hale
Row 3: McIntosh, Tidmore
Row 4: Collins, Shipley
Row 5: Adkins, Page
Row 6: Dodson, Busha
Row 7: Hindman, Seawright
Row 8: Cooper, Leonhardi
Row 9: Johnson, Smith
Row 10: Berry, Seibers
Row 11: Smith, Putnam
Row 12: B. Franklin, A. Franklin
Row 13: Roszell
Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728