Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/24/2022 10:17:23

Sponsor 743
August 8
Pittsburgh Pa. Motor Speedway,
Imperial, PA
Sanction: Pace Performance RUSH Racing Series (Jook George Steel City Classic) - $6,010
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated August 10, 9:49 am)
Norris rushes to Jook George Classic at PPMS
Jook George Steel City Classic
  1. Michael Norris
  2. Kyle Lukon
  3. Ben Policz
  4. Kyle Hardy
  5. Michael Duritsky Jr.
  6. Jeremy Wonderling
  7. Joe Martin
  8. Daryl Charlier
  9. Logan Zarin
  10. Levi Crowl
  11. Jake Gunn
  12. Dusty Waters
  13. John Mollick
  14. Tommy Schirnhofer Jr.
  15. Garret Paugh
  16. Justin Lamb
  17. Max Blair
  18. Josh Ferry
  19. John Waters
  20. Bill Kessler
  21. Zach Gunn
  22. Keith Barbara
  23. Christian Schneider
  24. Steve Dixon
  25. Robbie Scott
  26. Cole Petrelle
presented by
Rusty Drain
Michael Norris drove Nico Dabecco’s car to victory at PPMS.
What won the race: Michael Norris of Sarver, Pa., took the lead at the halfway mark and led the final 25 circuits, winning the 31st annual Jook George Steel City Classic at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway on Saturday night, collecting the $6,010 payday.
Quotable: "I love coming here and especially when it gets up on the wall like that," Norris said, adding "this is huge. I used to come here all the time, but don't get many opportunities anymore. I know this is a big deal and I appreciate Cleetus (Lockwich) for putting this (race) on."
Key notes: Norris won by 0.842 seconds in his Nico Dabecco-owned ride. Last year's race winner, Kyle Lukon of Burgettstown, Pa., was second. ... Polesitter and winner of the $404 John Beatty Memorial Dash earlier in the evening, Ben Policz of Rices Landing, Pa., led the race's first 11 laps before Lukon passed him for the top spot. ... Policz reclaimed the lead on the 24th lap, bringing Norris with him into second and forcing Lukon back to third. ... Norris took the lead from Policz on lap 25 and left the others to battle for second. ... Norris led the rest of the way and had stretched his lead to nearly eight seconds before the second and final caution flag flew on lap 39. ... The honored late Pennsylvania-area car owner William Thomas "Jook" George, who was selected as the PPMS Sportsman of the Year, inducted into the Pittsburgh Circle Track Hall of Fame, won the 1990 track championship at PPMS with driver John Beatty and captured the 1993 Fall Classic at PPMS with Bill Yakin. ... The first caution occurred on lap two and took nearly 20 minutes for cleanup, causing the race to last over 41 minutes in total. ... The top nine finishers completed all 50 laps. … The tour returns to PPMS Oct. 2-3 for the $5,000-to-win Bill Hendren Memorial.
On the move: Joe Martin of Punxsutawney, Pa., started 25th and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Norris drove an ND Motorsports Rocket Chassis sponsored by Dobs Automotive, Ingram Engines, Wood's Rod & Custom, Frankland Rear Ends, Integra Shocks and Octane Graphics.
Points chase: Entering the event, Jeremy Wonderling (188 points) of Wellsville, N.Y., leads Joe Martin (183), John Mollick (183), Chad Sines (174) and John Waters (173).
Current weather: Few Clouds, 70°F
Car count: 46
Fast qualifier: Michael Norris
Time: 20.272 seconds
Polesitter: Ben Policz
Dash winner: Ben Policz
Heat race winners: Ben Policz, Logan Zarin, John Mollick, Michael Norris, Daryl Charlier, Kyle Lukon
Consolation race winners: Christian Schneider, Garret Paugh
Provisional starters: Joe Martin, Bill Kessler
Next series race: September 12, Weedsport Speedway (Weedsport, NY) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Policz, Lukon
Row 2: Charlier, Norris
Row 3: Mollick, Zarin
Row 4: Duritsky Jr., Wonderling
Row 5: Z. Gunn, J. Gunn
Row 6: Barbara, Blair
Row 7: Crowl, D. Waters
Row 8: Hardy, Schirnhofer Jr.
Row 9: Dixon, J. Waters
Row 10: Schneider, Paugh
Row 11: Scott, Ferry
Row 12: Petrelle, Lamb
Row 13: Martin, Kessler 

Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728