Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/07/2022 11:39:06

Sponsor 743
August 1
Legit Speedway Park,
West Plains, MO
Sanction: Comp Cams Super Dirt Series (Larry Phillips Memorial) - $5,075
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated August 13, 10:30 am)
Looney collects $5,075 at Larry Phillips Memorial
Larry Phillips Memorial
  1. Payton Looney
  2. Mason Oberkramer
  3. Dane Dacus
  4. B.J. Robinson
  5. Morgan Bagley
  6. Logan Martin
  7. Spencer Hughes
  8. Kyle Beard
  9. Drew Armstrong
  10. Kaeden Cornell
  11. Tim Manville
  12. Brian Rickman
  13. Terry Phillips
  14. Scott Crigler
  15. Rick Rickman
  16. Chad Mallett
  17. David Payne
  18. Timothy Culp
  19. Raymond Merrill
  20. Joe Godsey
  21. Jamie Robards
  22. Neil Baggett
presented by
Millie Tanner
Payton Looney gets up to speed before his victory at West Plains.
What won the race: Leading all 40 laps, second-starting Payton Looney of Republic, Mo., earned $5,075 in Saturday's Comp Cams Super Dirt Series event at Legit Speedway Park. Finishing 1.492 seconds ahead of Mason Oberkramer, the Larry Phillips Memorial gave Looney his third series victory.
Key notes: Runner-up Mason Oberkramer made a dazzling fifth-to-second on the sixth lap, going by Dane Dacus, Spencer Hughes and B.J. Robinson in one fell swoop. ... Points leader and hometown driver Logan Martin spun inside turn two in the early laps and rallied back to sixth. ... Reigning series champion Timothy Culp pulled pitside with six laps remaining. ... Fifteen cars completed 40 laps. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Tony Jackson Jr., Jesse Stovall and Kaleb Stolba. ... The event honored the late dirt and asphalt legend and father of racer Terry Phillips. Larry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., who died in 2004, won the NASCAR Weekly Series National Championship a record five times.
On the move: Morgan Bagley of Longview, Texas, started 12th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Looney’s Capital Race Car is powered by a Cornett engine and sponsored by Atnip Motorsports, Specialty Risk Insurance, Atnip Express, Duvall Electric, Penske Racing Shocks and Swift Springs.
Points chase: Entering the event, Logan Martin (2,573 points) of West Plains, Mo., led Spencer Hughes (2,517), Timothy Culp (2,493), B.J. Robinson (2,276) and Rick Rickman (2,261).
Current weather: Clear, 72°F
Car count: 37
Fast qualifier: Payton Looney
Time: 13.846 seconds
Polesitter: Spencer Hughes
Heat race winners: Spencer Hughes, B.J. Robinson, Payton Looney, Dane Dacus
Consolation race winners: Scott Crigler, Kyle Beard
Provisional starters: Joe Godsey, David Payne
Next series race: August 20, Batesville Motor Speedway (Locust Grove, AR) $5,000
Editor's note: Corrects Looney's chassis brand to Capital; corrects 10th- and 11th-row in starting lineup.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Hughes, Looney
Row 2: Robinson, Dacus
Row 3: Oberkramer, Manville
Row 4: Phillips, B. Rickman
Row 5: Baggett, Culp
Row 6: Martin, Bagley
Row 7: Crigler, Beard
Row 8: Robards, Armstrong
Row 9: Cornell, R. Rickman
Row 10: Mallett, Merrill
Row 11: Godsey, Payne
Sponsor 1044
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728