Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/21/2021 06:05:23

Sponsor 743
August 23
Columbus Speedway,
Columbus, MS
Sanction: Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series (Battle of the States) - $3,000
Information provided by: Bryan Wimberley (last updated August 25, 9:47 am)
Breazeale fights off Wall, Moyer Jr. for $3,000
Battle of the States
  1. David Breazeale
  2. Chris Wall
  3. Rick Rickman
  4. Billy Moyer Jr.
  5. Garrett Alberson
  6. Anthony Burroughs
  7. Chad Thrash
  8. Mark Dodson
  9. Kody Barber
  10. Chad Dupont
  11. Clint Logan
  12. Shelby Sheedy
  13. Leon Henderson
  14. Timothy Culp
  15. Dean Carpenter
  16. Eric Cooley
  17. Brian Rickman
  18. Kyle Beard
  19. Chad McCool
  20. Dane Dacus
  21. Jason Milam
  22. Bub McCool
presented by
Scott Oglesby/foto-1.net
David Breazeale collected a $3,000 MSCCS victory at Columbus.
What won the race: Polesitter David Breazeale of Four Corners, Miss., held off challenges from Chris Wall of Springfield, La., and Billy Moyer Jr. of Batesville, Ark., for a $3,000 Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series victory, his 27th career tour triumph.
Key notes: Breazeale won his fourth MSCCS race of 2014; his first came April 12 in Columbus. ... Bub McCool of Vicksburg, Miss., was the first retiree after experiencing driveline issues early in the race. ... Columbus held the second event of the lone two-race weekend on the Mississippi-based series. ... McCool won Friday's race at North Alabama Speedway, the tour's first visit to the Tuscumbia, Ala., oval since 2008. ... With $1,000 in total bonus money on the line for the three drivers with the best combined finishes in this weekend's doubleheader, Wall earned an extra $500, while Moyer Jr. banked $300 and Breazeale collected $200.
On the move: Hometown driver Rick Rickman started ninth and finished third; Chad Thrash was the overall hard-charger with a 20th-to-seventh rally.
Winner's sponsors: Breazeale's MasterSbilt by Stuckey No. 54 has Jay Dickens power and is sponsored by Thompson's Auto Repair, RBT Motorsports, Wrisco Aluminum, Randy's Hunting Camp, X-Treme Graphics by J-Rod, CES Cable of Purvis and Hoosier Racing Tires.
Points chase: David Breazeale of Four Corners, Miss., entered the weekend with 1,205 points to lead Brian Rickman (1,140) and Rick Rickman (1,130).
Car count: 24
Fast qualifier: David Breazeale
Time: 13.440 seconds
Polesitter: David Breazeale
Dash winner: David Breazeale
Consolation race winners: Rick Rickman, Garrett Alberson
Provisional starters: Chad McCool, Shelby Sheedy
Next series race: September 13, Jackson Motor Speedway (Byram, MS) $2,500
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728