Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/21/2021 06:43:54

Sponsor 743
August 23
Tyler County Speedway,
Middlebourne, WV
Sanction: Unsanctioned special events (Earl Hill Memorial) - $10,000
Information provided by: Zach Yost and various reports (last updated August 25, 3:23 pm)
Davenport dominates in Earl Hill Memorial
Earl Hill Memorial
  1. Jonathan Davenport
  2. Jared Hawkins
  3. Tim Dohm
  4. Jacob Hawkins
  5. Doug Drown
  6. Davey Johnson
  7. Devin Moran
  8. Keith Barbara
  9. Mike Benedum
  10. Butch McGill
  11. Sonny Conley
  12. Cody Hardesty
  13. Steve Weigle
  14. Mason Zeigler
  15. Derek Doll
  16. Jared Miley
  17. Chuck Harper
  18. Steve Wilmoth
  19. Duane Stiner
  20. Rick Williams
presented by
Zach Yost
Jonathan Davenport emerges from his car in victory lane.
What won the race: Second-starting Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., dominated Tyler County's Earl Hill Memorial in lapping up to fourth place. Along with his $10,000 payday in the Super Late Model event, Davenport also won the FASTRAK Crate Late Model feature and claimed his 17th and 18th overall victories of the 2014 season.
Key notes: Davenport now has a victory in every calendar month since February. ... Jacob Hawkins of Fairmont, W.Va., spun with two laps remaining in the 80-lap feature while running fourth; Hawkins regained his spot despite the caution as he was the final car on the lead lap. ... Jared Miley of South Park, Pa., had overheating issues while running in the top five during the race's middle stages and retired. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: K.C. Burdette, Allen Brannon, Freddie Carpenter, Donnie Dotson, Mark Banal, Corey Conley, Daniel Hill and Steve Lucas. ... The event, originally rained out on July 26, honored one of the track's favorite sons who logged more than 300 feature victories and several Tyler County track titles. ... The night's racing served as the season championship night for other divisions, including Fastrak-sanctioned Crate Late Models. Davenport also won the Crate race, topping Kyle Thomas.
Winner's sponsors: The winning Kevin and Lee Roy Rumley-owned Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements/Rumley engine and has sponsorship from AES Racing, CV Racing Products, Dirtwrap, Hoosier Racing Tire, JRi Shocks, Mega Plumbing and VP Race Fuels.
Points chase: Entering Saturday's event, Butch McGill of West Union, W.Va., led Tyler County's weekly standings with 195 points over Steve Weigle (155), Sonny Conley (147), Derek Doll (135) and Mike Benedum (130).
Car count: 36
Fast qualifier: Jonathan Davenport
Dash winner: Jacob Hawkins
Heat race winners: Keith Barbara, Mason Zeigler, Devin Moran, Davey Johnson
Consolation race winners: Ricky Williams, Butch McGill
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728