Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/11/2023 13:50:38

Sponsor 743
July 4
Brownstown Speedway,
Brownstown, IN
Sanction: Unsanctioned special events (Born Free 40) - $5,500
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated July 5, 2:56 pm)
Gilpin earns $5,500 victory in Born Free 40
Born Free 40
  1. Devin Gilpin
  2. Nick Hoffman
  3. Kent Robinson
  4. Greg Johnson
  5. David Webb
  6. Chad Stapleton
  7. Duane Chamberlain
  8. Jared Bailey
  9. Shelby Miles
  10. Austin Burns
  11. Wes Leigh
  12. Brad Barrow
  13. Zak Blackwood
  14. Skyller Lewis
  15. Britan Godsey
  16. Dustin Linville
  17. Matt Bex
  18. Zack Burton
  19. Keegan Cox
presented by
Mark Schaefer/schaefer11.smugmug.com
Devin Gilpin celebrates in victory lane at Brownstown Speedway.
What won the race: Leading all the way, Devin Gilpin of Columbus, Ind., earned $5,550 Saturday at Brownstown Speedway in the Born Free 40. Gilpin built leads of more than a full straightaway and took the checkers comfortably ahead of Nick Hoffman and Kent Robinson.
Quotable: “I just put it up top and rolled on,” Gilpin said. “My dad, he was signalling me, he was telling me I had a a really big deal. I guess (runner-up Nick) Hoffman was closing the gap a little bit, and I had to pick it up back there. … I’m just really liking this Rocket right now. It just seems to fit me really well."
Key notes: The feature ran caution-free and Gilpin lapped all but seven competitors. ... Zak Blackwood and Greg Johnson held the second spot before runner-up Nick Hoffman got the spot. ... Blackwood was a late retiree. ... Gilpin earned his second victory of the season; he had a $2,200 payday at Brownstown on June 6. ... Marty O’Neal scratched from the Born Free 40 main event. … Brownstown hosts the DIRTcar Summer Nationals opener paying $5,000-to-win on July 8.
Winner's sponsors: Gilpin’s Vallery Motorsports Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Dasco Racing Supply, Valley & T.J. Hancock Core Supplies, Penske Racing Schocks, Browns Oil Service, Bane Logging and KBC Graphix.
Points chase: Entering the event, Devin Gilpin (1,714 points) led Shelby Miles (1,647) and Jared Bailey (1,487) in the division points chase.
Car count: 31
Polesitter: Devin Gilpin
Heat race winners: Devin Gilpin, Dustin Linville, Shelby Miles
Consolation race winners: Austin Burns
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information