Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/14/2024 20:07:07

Sponsor 743
July 5
Bullring at RICo Fairgrounds,
East Moline, IL
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Bull Ring Bullseye 40) - $6,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated July 6, 4:30 pm)
East Moline gives Looney second straight MLRA win
Bull Ring Bullseye 40
  1. Payton Looney
  2. Justin Duty
  3. Jeremiah Hurst
  4. Tony Toste
  5. Garrett Alberson
  6. Brian Shirley
  7. Mike Chasteen Jr.
  8. Chad Simpson
  9. Tony Jackson Jr.
  10. Mike McKinney
  11. Daniel Hilsabeck
  12. Brennon Willard
  13. Bobby Pierce
  14. Jason Papich
  15. Allen Weisser
  16. Travis Denning
  17. Tegan Evans
  18. Jonathan Brauns
  19. Jeremy Conaway
  20. Gary Webb
  21. Mike Guldenpfennig
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Payton Looney waves the checkers after his East Moline victory.
What won the race: Inheriting the lead after race-long leader Bobby Pierce tagged the wall, Payton Looney of Republic, Mo., scored his second Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association victory in as many nights in the Bull Ring Bullseye 40 Sunday at the Bullring at RICo Fairgrounds. Looney earned $6,000 for his third MLRA victory in the tour’s debut at the track.
Quotable: "I hate it that (Pierce) broke because I felt like I had just got my rhythm and I was catching him a little bit every lap. I wish he could have raced it because this isn't my forte at all," Looney said. "Any body that knows me knows that I'm not usually up on the cushion like that. I guess it's just a testament of how far we have come and how much we have grown."
Key notes: Polesitter Bobby Pierce had built a comfortable lead early till contact with the turn-two wall sent him pitside. … Eleven of 21 starters were running at the finish. ... The feature was originally slated to be 40 laps but race officials increased it to 44 to honor Kewanee, Ill., racer Shaune Lewis who died earlier in the week at Davenport Speedway. … Doug Curless added $1,000 to the purse to increase the winner's share to $6,000 from $5,000. … It was the first Super Late Model race hosted at the track since the DIRTcar Summer Nationals invaded in 2008. … The Bullring hosts the DIRTcar Summer Nationals on July 12.
On the move: Justin Duty of Mulino, Ore., started 16th and finished second for a career-best MLRA performance.
Winner's sponsors: Looney’s Capital Race Car is powered by a Cornett engine and sponsored by Atnip Motorsports, Specialty Risk Insurance, Atnip Express, Duvall Electric, Penske Racing Shocks and Swift Springs.
Points chase: After East Moline: 1. Payton Looney (1,850); 2. Chad Simpson Z(1,740); 3. Jeremiah Hurst (1,715) 4. Tony Jackson Jr. (1,655); 5. Garrett Alberson (1,485).
Current weather: Clear, 91°F
Car count: 21
Fast qualifier: Bobby Pierce
Time: 13.584 seconds
Polesitter: Bobby Pierce
Heat race winners: Payton Looney, Tony Toste, Jonathan Brauns
Next series race: July 18, Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO) $20,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Pierce, Toste
Row 2: Brauns, Looney
Row 3: Simpson, Alberson
Row 4: Shirley, Hilsabeck
Row 5: Wiesser, Hurst
Row 6: Denning, Papich
Row 7: Jackson Jr., McKinney
Row 8: Conaway, Duty
Row 9: Webb, Guldenpfennig
Row 10: Willard, Evans
Row 11: Chasteen
Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information