Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/08/2023 12:55:25

Sponsor 743
July 4
300 Raceway,
Farley, IA
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Independence Day Shootout) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated July 5, 10:50 am)
Looney tames Pierce for second MLRA win
Independence Day Shootout
  1. Payton Looney
  2. Bobby Pierce
  3. Jeremiah Hurst
  4. Brian Shirley
  5. Spencer Diercks
  6. Dave Eckrich
  7. Matt Furman
  8. Tony Toste
  9. Brennon Willard
  10. Daniel Hilsabeck
  11. Jeremy Conaway
  12. Justin Duty
  13. Chad Simpson
  14. Tony Jackson Jr.
  15. Jason Rauen
  16. Justin Kay
  17. Aaron Marrant
  18. Mason Oberkramer
  19. Garrett Alberson
  20. Jason Papich
  21. Skip Frey
  22. Chris Simpson
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Payton Looney takes the checkers at Iowa's 300 Raceway.
What won the race: Fending off a charging Bobby Pierce in the final 10 circuits, polesitter Payton Looney of Republic, Mo., rolled to his second Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association victory in Saturday night’s 40-lap Independence Day Shootout at 300 Raceway. Finishing 0.927 seconds ahead of Pierce, Looney pocketed $5,000 and grabbed the series points lead for the first time this season.
Quotable: “(The track) was starting to clean up really good in (turns) one and two," said Looney. "I was honestly kind of riding and when I caught that lap car and pushed really bad, I just got into some dirty air. (Spotter) Lake (Mooneyham) was showing me that the lead was really cutting down and I saw (Bobby Pierce) show a nose … and win it or wear it out, I was going to put it into the fence if we didn't win it."
Key notes: Looney's flag-to-flag victory came just eight days after his first career MLRA win at Salina, Okla. ... Pierce passed Brian Shirley for second on lap 31 and got to within striking distance of Looney but settled for second. ... Jeremiah Hurst finished an MLRA career-best third despite being hampered by a broken shock. ... Chad Simpson was running in the top five on a lap-18 restart when he broke a driveshaft and collected several drivers behind him, including Tony Jackson Jr. … Simpson’s younger brother, Chris, retired after bringing out the race’s first caution flag on lap two. … Garrett Alberson’s top-five run ended on lap seven when he hit the wall in turns one and two.MLRA made its third-ever visit to 300 Raceway for the second night of the tour’s three-race weekend in the Hawkeye State. … 300 Raceway hosts the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series on July 13 and the 43rd annual Yankee Dirt Track Classic on Sept. 3-5.
On the move: Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., started 10th and finished second.
Winner's sponsors: Looney’s Capital Race Car is powered by a Cornett engine and sponsored by Atnip Motorsports, Specialty Risk Insurance, Atnip Express, Duvall Electric, Penske Racing Shocks and Swift Springs.
Points chase: Before Farley: 1. Chad Simpson (1,435); 2. Payton Looney (1,390); 3. Tony Jackson Jr. (1,360) 4. Jeremiah Hurst (1,325); 5. Garrett Alberson (1,195).
Current weather: Clear, 82°F
Car count: 22
Fast qualifier: Payton Looney
Time: 15.015 seconds
Polesitter: Payton Looney
Heat race winners: Payton Looney, Jeremiah Hurst, Garrett Alberson
Next series race: July 5, Bullring at RICo Fairgrounds (East Moline, IL) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Looney, Hurst
Row 2: Alberson, Shirley
Row 3: Chr. Simpson, Hilsabeck
Row 4: Cha. Simpson, Toste
Row 5: Eckrich, Pierce
Row 6: Marrant, Diercks
Row 7: Willard, Furman
Row 8: Jackson, Rauen
Row 9: Oberkramer, Papich
Row 10: Kay, Frey
Row 11: Conaway, Duty
Sponsor 1177
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information