Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/10/2023 23:49:38

Sponsor 743
July 3
Tazewell Speedway,
Tazewell, TN
Sanction: Schaeffer's Iron-Man Series (Firecracker 40) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated July 4, 7:53 am)
Trammell takes Tazewell's Firecracker 40
Firecracker 40
  1. Jason Trammell
  2. Ryan King
  3. Greg Estes
  4. David Payne
  5. Donald McIntosh
  6. Jake Knowles
  7. Vic Hill
  8. Dakotah Knuckles
  9. Joey Standridge
  10. Austin Glass
  11. Pearson Lee Williams
  12. Forrest Trent
  13. Brian Smith
  14. Danny Helton
  15. Michael Chilton
  16. Mack McCarter
  17. Lynn Leach
  18. Brian Shockley
  19. Steve Smith
presented by
Michael Moats/mrmphotos.net
Jason Trammell and crew celebrate at Tazewell Speedway.
What won the race: Inheriting the lead on lap 23 when the race-long pacesetters tangled, Jason Trammell of Knoxville, Tenn., marched on to capture his first career Schaeffer's Iron-Man Series victory Friday at Tazewell Speedway. He beat Ryan King to the finish line by 0.287 of a second to pocket $5,000.
Quotable: “I didn’t realize the top (groove) wasn’t there. It was so bottom dominant early and as soon as (Donald) McIntosh got by me I got down pretty quick and I was just riding,” Trammell said. “I felt like if I could just stay riding and stay close, I could maybe do something later in the race and buzz the top like I did last week (in a Topless Outlaws victory). They had a flat down there and (Vic Hill and Donald McIntosh) got together and you know I hate it for both of ‘em, but I’ll take it any way I can.”
Key notes: Trammell became the tour's fifth winner in as many races this season. ... Vic Hill led the race's first 23 laps while turning back challenges from Donald McIntosh before the two made contact, knocking Hill from the top spot and sending McIntosh pitside with a flat left-rear tire. ... McIntosh rebounded to finish fifth while Hill finished seventh. ... The 40-lap feature lasted 31 minutes and saw seven drivers complete the distance.
On the move: David Payne of Murphy, N.C., started 13th and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Trammell’s Rocket Chassis is powered by a Vic Hill Race Engine and carries sponsorship from Hatmaker Holdings, R&J Sign Co., Dents-R-Us Paint & Collision Repair, Charlie Brown Co. Screen Printing & Embroidery Services, Parts City Auto Parts, Brian King Roofing Inc., Brucebilt Performance, Lake City Tire, Keizer Wide 5 Wheels, XS Power, Integra Shocks and Hoosier Tire South.
Points chase: Ryan King (218 points) of Seymour, Tenn., entered the night leading Michael Chilton (208), David Payne (201), Pearson Williams (181) and Jake Knowles (180).
Current weather: Clear, 75°F
Car count: 20
Fast qualifier: Jason Trammell
Time: 11.478 seconds
Consolation race winners: David Payne
Next series race: July 4, Volunteer Speedway (Bulls Gap, TN) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information