Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/10/2023 05:12:42

Sponsor 743
July 3
Lone Star Speedway,
Kilgore, TX
Sanction: Comp Cams Super Dirt Series - $4,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated July 4, 9:36 pm)
Win puts Moyer in Lone Star state of mind
  1. Billy Moyer
  2. Drew Armstrong
  3. B.J. Robinson
  4. David Breazeale
  5. Jon Mitchell
  6. Spencer Hughes
  7. Morgan Bagley
  8. Terry Phillips
  9. Logan Martin
  10. Hunter Rasdon
  11. Robbie Stuart
  12. Neil Baggett
  13. Brian Rickman
  14. Rick Rickman
  15. Chase Allen
  16. Timothy Culp
  17. Mason Jordan
  18. Brandon Hightower
  19. David Payne
  20. Joe Godsey
presented by
Millie Tanner
Billy Moyer heads to a $4,000 Comp Cams triump in Texas.
What won the race: Taking advantage of a caution with 10 laps remaining, third-starting Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., slipped by polesitter and race-long leader Drew Armstrong and then held off the modified standout as they traded sliders for two laps as the Hall-of-Famer won Friday’s 30-lap Comp Cams Super Dirt Series feature at Lone Star Speedway. Moyer earned $4,000 in finishing 1.017 seconds ahead of the series rookie.
Quotable: “Everything worked out good there. It was a little hard to pass there and on that restart I just had everything right,” said Moyer. “The (restart) before I kinda thought there was a little something on top and I messed up coming down the front straightaway and got too wide. Then luckily another yellow gave me one more shot at it.”
Key notes: Moyer picked up his 11th career Comp Cams Super Dirt Series victory. … His last Comp Cams win was April 20, 2019 at Legit Speedway Park in West Plains, Mo. … Moyer’s 11 series victories have come at seven tracks. … Armstrong of Benton, Ark., won the weekend opener Wednesday at I-30 for his first Late Model victory and fellow series rookie contender Spencer Hughes of Meridian, Miss., won Thursday’s race at ArkLaTex. … Timothy Culp’s night got off to a rough start when his qualifying time was disallowed. … Seventeen of the 20 starters finished the race with 16 on the lead lap. … Logan Martin of West Plains, Mo., rallied to ninth after taking a provisional. ... The feature ended around 2 a.m. CT after the start of the program was delayed by late-afternoon rain.
On the move: Logan Martin of West Plains, Mo., started 19th and finished ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Moyer’s Clements-powered Capital Race Car is sponsored by Mesilla Valley Transport, Karl Chevrolet, M&S Concrete, Henderson Motorsports and Jack’s CarQuest.
Points chase: After Lone Star: 1. Logan Martin (1,958); 2. Timothy Culp (1,943); 3. Spencer Hughes (1,827); 4. Neil Baggett (1,714); 5. B.J. Robinson (1,711).
Current weather: Clear, 73°F
Car count: 25
Fast qualifier: Logan Martin
Time: 14.620 seconds
Polesitter: Drew Armstrong
Heat race winners: Drew Armstrong, Jon Mitchell, Billy Moyer
Consolation race winners: Timothy Culp
Next series race: July 4, Boothill Speedway (Greenwood, LA) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Armstrong, Mitchell
Row 2: Moyer, Robinson
Row 3: Hughes, Breazeale
Row 4: Stuart, Phillips
Row 5: Hightower, Bagley
Row 6: Rasdon, B. Rickman
Row 7: Baggett, Godsey
Row 8: Jordan, Culp
Row 9: Allen, R. Rickman
Row 10: Martin, Payne

Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information