Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1268
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/08/2023 12:27:37

Sponsor 743
July 2
Mississippi Thunder Speedway,
Fountain City, WI
Sanction: DiscountShopTowels.com Dirt Kings Tour (Firecracker 40) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated July 4, 7:49 am)
Kaanta bags $5,000 in Firecracker 40 at MTS
Firecracker 40
  1. John Kaanta
  2. Tim Isenberg
  3. Troy Springborn
  4. Ron Berna
  5. Ryan Unzicker
  6. Jake Timm
  7. Justin Reed
  8. Justin Ritchie
  9. Jesse Glenz
  10. Lance Matthees
  11. Brett Swedberg
  12. Justin Schmidt
  13. Mark Rose
  14. Turk Letizia
  15. Jake Redetzke
  16. Marshall Fegers
  17. Chris Engels
  18. Taylor Scheffler
  19. Gunner Frank
  20. Dustin Sorenson
  21. Kyle Raddant
  22. Steve Laursen
  23. Mitch McGrath
  24. Sam Mars
presented by
Chad Marquardt
John Kaanta celebrates Thursday's $5,000 Dirt Kings triumph.
What won the race: Polesitter John Kaanta of Elk Mound, Wis., controlled Thursday night’s DiscountShopTowels.com Dirt Kings Tour-sanctioned Firecracker 40 at Mississippi Thunder Speedway to register his first career series victory. Finishing ahead of Tim Isenberg and Troy Springborn, Kaanta pocketed $5,000.
Quotable: “The car was really good. We worked on it all week. My son Tony put a ton of hours in it, my buddy Rick too,” said Kaanta. “Those first few laps, the 81 wouldn’t let up there. (Third-place finisher) Troy (Springborn) was really persistent and it was good clean racing and a lot of fun. I’m so happy. This is our first win this year. We were kind of struggling the first part of the year. Like I said, Tony really did a lot of work on the car, and Rick and Dean, and got ‘er really good tonight.”
Key notes: The DiscountShopTowels.com Dirt Kings Tour returned to Mississippi Thunder Speedway for a pair of $5,000-to-win events on Thursday and Friday. … The tour’s season-opener at Mississippi Thunder Speedway in May drew 47 entries, with Jake Timm of Winona, Minn., winning the main event. … Thursday’s race was just the third of the season for the series. … Friday pits open at 3 p.m.; grandstands open at 5 p.m.
On the move: Ron Berna of Abrams, Wis., started 21st and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Kaanta’s MB Customs Race Car has a Brown Engineering Racing Engine and is sponsored by Mars Race Cars, CMD Race Shocks, Joe Provo Race Wear, C&D Trucking, All Season Tire Pros, WI Fleet Services, Brent Wachsmuth Excavating, Trucking & Concrete, Don’s Sheet Metal, Gibson Aviation Services, GRP Motorsports and Rick’s Auto Care Center.
Points chase: Before Thursday, Brett Swedberg (120 points) of Shawano, Wis., led Justin Ritchie (118) and fourth others tied at 100 points.
Current weather: Clear, 79°F
Car count: 34
Polesitter: John Kaanta
Heat race winners: John Kaanta, Justin Reed, Taylor Scheffler, Lance Matthees
Consolation race winners: Mitch McGrath
Next series race: July 10, Outagamie Speedway (Seymour, WI) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Kaanta, Mars
Row 2: Reed, Springborn
Row 3: Glenz, Isenberg
Row 4: Ritchie, Scheffler
Row 5: Mathees, Unzicker
Row 6: Timm, Swedberg
Row 7: Fegers, Sorensen
Row 8: Redetzke, Raddant
Row 9: Engels, Rose
Row 10: McGrath, Laursen
Row 11: Bera, Schmidt
Row 12: Frank, Letizia
Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information