Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/10/2023 23:39:59

Sponsor 743
July 2
ArkLaTex Speedway,
Vivian, LA
Sanction: Comp Cams Super Dirt Series (The Pelican) - $4,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated July 4, 7:48 am)
Hughes gets first Comp Cams win at ArkLaTex
The Pelican
  1. Spencer Hughes
  2. Terry Phillips
  3. Logan Martin
  4. Jon Mitchell
  5. Morgan Bagley
  6. Hunter Rasdon
  7. Kyle Beard
  8. Timothy Culp
  9. Brian Rickman
  10. Neil Baggett
  11. Brady Walton
  12. Rick Rickman
  13. Jeff Roth
  14. Brett Frazier
  15. B.J. Robinson
  16. Drew Armstrong
  17. Christian Hanger
  18. Robbie Starnes
  19. David Payne
  20. Joe Godsey
  21. Joseph Long
  22. Chase Allen
  23. Bobby Blankenship
presented by
Scott Burson/scottscustomart.com
Spencer Hughes heads to victory Thursday at ArkLaTex.
What won the race: Outrunning polesitter Terry Phillips, third-starting Spencer Hughes of Meridian, Miss., soared to his first career Comp Cams Super Dirt Series victory in Thursday’s Pelican at ArkLaTex Speedway. Taking the checkers 0.932 seconds ahead of Phillips, Hughes earned $4,000 in becoming the tour’s second first-time winner in as many nights.
Quotable: “I just knew I didn’t need to miss the brown leaving the corner and I thought I was gonna be all right,” Hughes said. “Caleb, he’s running the (signaling) sticks. He did a great job. I guess when it’s your night, it’s your night. The racetrack’s the best I’ve been to in a while. I really enjoyed it. I think you had two pretty good grooves out there and to be able to move around and get by lapped traffic it was a really good track.”
Key notes: After Hughes and polesitter Terry Phillips exchanged the lead early in the 40-lapper, Hughes built a comfortable margin over Phillips by the 10th lap. … First-time series winner Drew Armstrong won Wednesday's opener at I-30 Speedway in Little Rock, Ark. … The series heads to Lone Star Speedway in Kilgore, Texas, Friday and Boothill Speedway in Greenwood, La., Saturday.
On the move: Hunter Rasdon of Jonesboro, Ark., started 16th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Hughes drives a Capital Race Car sponsored by Hughes Machine Shop, Permanent Exterior Solutions, Cam2, Brown’s Creek Hunting Club, PRP Suspension, and M-D Metals.
Points chase: After ArkLaTex: 1. Timothy Culp (1,793); 2. Logan Martin (1,763); 3. Spencer Hughes (1,627); 4. Jesse Stovall (1,558); 5. Neil Baggett (1,544).
Current weather: Few Clouds, 90°F
Car count: 25
Fast qualifier: Logan Martin
Time: 13.425 seconds
Polesitter: Terry Phillips
Heat race winners: Terry Phillips, Kyle Beard, Spencer Hughes
Consolation race winners: Hunter Rasdon
Next series race: July 4, Boothill Speedway (Greenwood, LA) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Phillips, Beard
Row 2: Hughes, Martin
Row 3: Mitchell, Culp
Row 4: Bagley, Armstrong
Row 5: Hanger, B. Rickman
Row 6: R. Rickman, Baggett
Row 7: Robinson, Godsey
Row 8: Walton, Rasdon
Row 9: Frazier, Long
Row 11: Starnes, Allen
Row 12: Blankenship
Sponsor 1177
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information