Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/08/2023 10:57:29

Sponsor 743
July 1
I-30 Speedway,
Little Rock, AR
Sanction: Comp Cams Super Dirt Series (Hammer Hill Twin Bill) - $4,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated July 15, 12:31 pm)
I-30 gives Armstrong first Late Model win
Hammer Hill Twin Bill
  1. Drew Armstrong
  2. Neil Baggett
  3. Logan Martin
  4. Rick Rickman
  5. Brian Rickman
  6. B.J. Robinson
  7. Morgan Bagley
  8. Spencer Hughes
  9. Timothy Culp
  10. Scott Crigler
  11. Kyle Beard
  12. Terry Phillips
  13. Jon Mitchell
  14. Chandler Petty
  15. Tommy Surrett
  16. Jesse Stovall
  17. Chad Mallett
  18. David Payne
  19. Joe Godsey
  20. Hunter Rasdon
presented by
Millie Tanner
Drew Armstrong emerges in victory lane after his first Late Model victory.
What won the race: Holding off Neil Baggett following the demise of race-long leader Timothy Culp with three laps remaining, home-track racer Drew Armstrong of Benton, Ark., notched his first career Late Model victory, winning Wednesday’s Hammer Hill Twinbill at I-30 Speedway. The series rookie led the final three laps on his way to a popular $4,000 payday on the Comp Cams Super Dirt Series.
Quotable: “I seen Timmy break down the back straightaway and I said, ‘I’m running second. What do you do now, you’re leading this thing?’ This is amazing," Armstrong said. "It’s a dream come true.”
Key notes: Armstrong finished 1.549 seconds ahead of Baggett. … The 25-year-old former modified ace is in his first full season in the full-fendered division. … His previous best series finish was ninth. ... Eight drivers finished, all on the lead lap. … Culp dominated the first 37 laps from the pole position, but appeared to break as he headed down the backstretch. … The 40-lapper was slowed by six cautions, four in the first 12 circuits. … Jesse Stovall spun into the infield to draw a caution in lap three; Caution appeared for a slowing David Payne on lap eight; On lap 10 Chandler Petty slowed to bring out the third yellow; The fourth caution waved on lap 12 when Jon Mitchell slowed in turn three, giving up the second position; Scott Crigler spun in turn one to bring out the fifth caution; Culp drew the final caution on lap 37. … Billy Moyer of Batesville Ark., scratched after he retired from a heat.
On the move: Logan Martin of West Plains, Mo., started 13th and finished third after pitting to change a flat tire.
Winner's sponsors: Armstrong’s Keith Lawson Motorsports Longhorn Chassis powered by a Clements Engine and sponsored by Total Tire & Automotive and Elia’s Mexican Grill.
Points chase: Before I-30, Timothy Culp and Jesse Stovall are tied atop the Comp Cams standings with 1,408 points, followed by Logan Martin (1,313), Spencer Hughes (1,187) and Rick Rickman (1,151).
Current weather: Scattered Clouds, 79°F
Car count: 31
Fast qualifier: Timothy Culp
Time: 13.471 seconds
Polesitter: Timothy Culp
Heat race winners: Timothy Culp, Hunter Rasdon, Jon Mitchell, B.J. Robinson
Consolation race winners: Logan Martin, Tommy Surrett
Provisional starters: Scott Crigler, David Payne
Next series race: July 31, Batesville Motor Speedway (Locust Grove, AR) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Culp, Mitchell
Row 2: Rasdon, Robinson
Row 3: Hughes, Bagley
Row 4: Baggett, Stovall
Row 5: R. Rickman, B. Rickman
Row 6: Armstrong, Godsey
Row 7: Martin, Surrett
Row 8: Petty, Beard
Row 9: Phillips, Mallett
Row 10: Crigler, Payne

Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information