Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/24/2024 01:44:13

Sponsor 743
June 25
Davenport Speedway,
Davenport, IA
Sanction: MARS Racing Series - $5,000
Information provided by: Patrick Davis and series reports (last updated June 26, 1:22 pm)
Heckenast captures $5,000 in MARS opener
  1. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  2. Allen Weisser
  3. Brian Shirley
  4. Chris Simpson
  5. Brian Birkhofer
  6. Bobby Pierce
  7. Chad Holladay
  8. Daryn Klein
  9. Rich Bell
  10. Justin Kay
  11. Jason Feger
  12. Spencer Diercks
  13. Ryan Unzicker
  14. Jonathan Brauns
  15. Bob Gardner
  16. Matt Furman
  17. Jason Wagner
  18. Jake Miller
  19. Myles Moos
  20. Tegan Evans
  21. Joel Callahan
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Frank Heckenast Jr. led the final 17 laps Thursday at Davenport.
What won the race: Rallying from the fifth row, Frank Heckenast Jr. of Frankfort, Ill., went under a high-running Bobby Pierce on the 25th lap and led the rest of Thursday's MARS opener at Davenport Speedway for a $5,000 victory. Allen Weisser finished second while Pierce, who slipped over the banking trying to catch Heckenast, ended up sixth.
Quotable: “We started pretty deep, but the car was really good,” Heckenast said. “We got to judge off other cars, so a lot of times that plays out, and tonight it did."
Key notes: Heckenast won his first MARS feature and first in Iowa. ... He broke into the top five early in the race and took command on lap 25. ... Heckenast's previous victory came Aug. 31, 2019, in American Ethanol Late Model Tour competition in Fairbury, Ill. ... Bobby Pierce showed smoke in hot laps and limped to the infield with engine problems; he went to a backup car and promptly won his heat race to earn a front-row starting spot for the feature. ... Time trials were scrapped because of timing and scoring problems. ... New series owner Tony Izzo Jr. took the series to northern Illinois (it's previously been based in Kentucky, Tennessee and Missouri; it was originally founded in Arkansas). ... The series is presented by Rip It Energy Fuel. … Justin Kay swept a pair of IMCA Late Model features on the undercard.
On the move: Winner Frank Heckenast Jr. started ninth; Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., started 11th and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Heckenast’s Rocket Chassis has a Pro Power Racing Engine and sponsorship from JR Hauling, Storage Squares, Petroff Towing, Jim Weber Motorsports, Jay Morris Construction, Allstar Performance, Penske Shocks, Swift Springs, DirtOval66.com, Chase Decals and Dragon Racing Fuels.
Points chase: The tripleheader weekend opens the season.
Current weather: Clear, 81°F
Car count: 21
Polesitter: Jonathan Brauns
Heat race winners: Allen Weisser, Bobby Pierce, Spencer Diercks
Next series race: June 26, Pepsi Lee County Speedway (Donnellson, IA) $5,000
Editor's note: Corrects winner's engine builder and lap of winning pass.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Brauns, Pierce
Row 2: Chri. Simpson, Weisser
Row 3: Diercks, Birkhofer
Row 4: Moos, Klein
Row 5: Heckenast, Feger
Row 6: Shirley, Gardner
Row 7: Bell, Unzicker
Row 8: Wagner, Callahan
Row 9: Hollday, Miller
Row 10: Furman, Kay
Row 11: Evans

Sponsor 1269
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information