Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/29/2023 14:40:10

Sponsor 743
June 13
Maquoketa Speedway,
Maquoketa, IA
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated June 14, 3:07 pm)
Simpson outslides Pierce, wins at Maquoketa
  1. Chris Simpson
  2. Bobby Pierce
  3. Dennis Erb Jr.
  4. Chad Simpson
  5. Ryan Unzicker
  6. Billy Moyer
  7. Jeremiah Hurst
  8. Mike Spatola
  9. Justin Kay
  10. Will Vaught
  11. Tony Jackson Jr.
  12. Justin Duty
  13. Payton Looney
  14. Mitch McGrath
  15. Jeremy Grady
  16. Spencer Diercks
  17. Garrett Alberson
  18. Aaron Marrant
  19. Jason Papich
  20. Shannon Babb
  21. Brian Birkhofer
  22. Paul Parker
  23. Dave Eckrich
  24. Andy Eckrich
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Chris Simpson (inside) heads to his 14th career MLRA victory.
What won the race: Winning a fierce battle of slide jobs, Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa outdueled Bobby Pierce on Saturday at Maquoketa Speedway for a $5,000 Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association victory. Pierce made a pass for the lead with four laps remaining, but a caution erased the move and Simpson won the late-race dash.
Quotable: "I knew (Pierce) was there, I could hear him bouncing off the cushion in one," Simpson said. "He threw me a couple of sliders and I had to give one back. I lifted for him and he got into the back of me once, but it was good hard, clean racing racing around the top like that."
Key notes: Chris Simpson's victory tied his older brother Chad with his 14th in MLRA history. …. Chad Simpson nosed into second early and settled for fourth. … Chris Simpson's triumph was his first in Dirt Late Model competition since he captured a Prairie Dirt Classic qualifying feature on July 27, 2018, at Fairbury (Ill.) Speedway. He won a modified feature last month at Iowa's Benton County Speedway, however. ... Brian Birkhofer was running fourth when he retired just past halfway in the 40-lapper. … Friday’s MLRA winner in Moberly, Mo., Shannon Babb, was also an early retiree.
On the move: Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., started 13th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Simpson’s Longhorn Chassis is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and sponsored by Cheap Cars, Five Star Shop Service, Randy Davidson Trucking, Nutrien Ag Solutions, Hoker Trucking, Superior Cleaning, Allgaier Performance, Chase Decals, Simpson Farms, IITI and Lucas Oil.
Points chase: After Maquoketa: T1. Chris Simpson (390); T1. Chad Simpson (390); 3. Dennis Erb Jr. (355): 4. Shannon Babb (335). 5. Tony Jackson Jr. (330); 6. Will Vaught (325); 7. Billy Moyer (325); T8. Bobby Pierce (305); T8. Payton Looney (305); 10. Jeremiah Hurst (300).
Current weather: Broken Clouds, 61°F
Car count: 36
Fast qualifier: Shannon Babb
Time: 13.965 seconds
Polesitter: Chris Simpson
Heat race winners: Chris Simpson, Billy Moyer, Will Vaught, Bobby Pierce
Consolation race winners: Justin Kay, Jeremy Grady
Next series race: June 14, West Liberty Raceway (West Liberty, IA) $5,000
Editor's note: Corrects winner's chassis.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Chris Simpson, Vaught
Row 2: Moyer, Pierce
Row 3: Chad Simpson, Babb
Row 4: Erb Jr., Hurst
Row 5: Alberson, Duty
Row 6: Birkhofer, Marrant
Row 7: Unzicker, Spatola
Row 8: Jackson Jr., McGrath 
Row 9: Kay, Grady
Row 10: A. Eckrich, Papich
Row 11: Parker, D. Eckrich

Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information