Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/01/2022 05:58:43

Sponsor 743
April 5
Smoky Mountain Speedway,
Maryville, TN
Sanction: Schaeffer's Spring Nationals - $6,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated April 6, 3:21 pm)
Madden's demise lifts Ogle at Smoky Mountain
  1. Billy Ogle Jr.
  2. Vic Hill
  3. Skip Arp
  4. Mike Marlar
  5. Stacy Boles
  6. Riley Hickman
  7. Austin Smith
  8. Donald McIntosh
  9. Eric Wells
  10. Michael Chilton
  11. Tommy Kerr
  12. Cory Hedgecock
  13. David Payne
  14. Jeff Wolfenbarger
  15. Tom Maddox
  16. Kenny Collins
  17. Casey Roberts
  18. Chris Madden
  19. Chris Ferguson
  20. Mark Douglas
  21. Victor Lee
  22. Chris Wilson
  23. Chad Ogle
presented by
Glen Starek/glensphoto.com
Billy Ogle Jr. inherited the point and led the final 34 laps.
What won the race: Inheriting the point when race-long leader Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C., tangled with a lapped car on the 16th lap, Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, Tenn., paced the final 34 laps en route to a $6,000 payday.
Key notes: Ogle earned his first Spring Nationals victory; the miniseries has yet to see a repeat winner in its brief two-year history. He's the 12th series winner. ... Chris Madden, whose car slammed the turn-one wall after contact with Jeff Wolfenbarger's machine, retired following the incident and finished 18th. ... Other cautions appeared for Chris Wilson (lap five), Tommy Kerr's spin (lap 17) and Cory Hedgecock (lap 35). ... Riley Hickman of Ooltewah, Tenn., entered the event fresh off a March stretch where he finished no worse than third in six Super Late Model starts and won two events; he logged a quiet sixth-place finish Saturday. ... Chris Ferguson of Mount Holly, N.C., made a guest appearance in Sanford Goddard's famed Warrior house car. ... Mark Vineyard of Powell, Tenn., escaped injury after flipping violently during hot laps. ... Cory Hedgecock won the Limited Late Model feature. ... Friday's Spring Nationals event at Tri-County Racetrack in Brasstown, N.C., was rained out and reset for Thursday, April 10.
On the move: After winning a last-chance race, Skip Arp of Georgetown, Tenn., charged from 11th to round out the podium.
Winner's sponsors: Ogle drives a Blount Motorsports Rocket Chassis powered by a Vic Hill Race Engine with sponsorship from Arnold Trucking, Bearden Oil Company, Blount Excavating, Cherokee Millwright & Mechanical, GEOServices, Massey Electric, Matlock Decal Company and Stowers (CAT) Machinery Corp.
Points chase: Billy Ogle Jr. (388) leads after three races followed by Mike Marlar (384), Eric Wells (376), Vic Hill (372) and Stacy Boles (370).
Car count: 30
Fast qualifier: Chris Madden
Time: 15.553 seconds
Polesitter: Chris Madden
Consolation race winners: Chad Ogle, Donald McIntosh, Skip Arp
Provisional starters: Terry Wolfenbarger, Tom Maddox, Kenny Collins
Next series race: April 10, Tri-County Racetrack (Brasstown, NC) $4,000
Editor's note: Corrects Fixes Ogle's engine builder.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728