Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1119
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/11/2020 08:27:34

Sponsor 743
June 6
I-30 Speedway,
Little Rock, AR
Sanction: Comp Cams Super Dirt Series (Rockabilly 45) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated June 7, 3:16 pm)
Looney strums foes to $5,000 Rockabilly tune
Rockabilly 45
  1. Payton Looney
  2. Logan Martin
  3. Spencer Hughes
  4. Kyle Beard
  5. Brian Rickman
  6. Joe Godsey
  7. Jesse Stovall
  8. Rick Rickman
  9. Drew Armstrong
  10. Morgan Bagley
  11. Robert Baker
  12. Hunter Rasdon
  13. Timothy Culp
  14. Neil Baggett
  15. Scott Crigler
  16. Chandler Petty
  17. B.J. Robinson
  18. Steve Stultz
  19. David Payne
  20. Tommy Surrett
  21. Kaeden Cornell
  22. Jon Mitchell
presented by
Jennifer Newkirk
Payton Looney heads for victory at I-30 Speedway.
What won the race: Surviving a handful of late restarts, second-starting Payton Looney of Republic, Mo., picked up a $5,000 victory in the 10th annual Rockabilly 45 at I-30 Speedway on Saturday. Looney crossed the finish line 1.420 seconds ahead of runner-up Logan Martin, who started third.
Quotable: “Man we struggled horribly last night. I’m just no good at those type of racetracks like 67 was in Texarkana and we kinda worked on the car a little bit. Special thanks to Marshall Green at Capital Race Cars,” Looney said. “The racetrack really cleaned up through the top, middle. I knew I was all right just as long as I hit my marks. The race car was great.”
Key notes: The victory was Looney's second career Comp Cams Super Dirt Series triumph. … His previous win came Sept. 15, 2019 at Springfield (Mo.) Raceway. … Looney became the fifth different Rockabilly 45 winner as the Comp Cams Super Dirt Series wrapped ups its doubleheader weekend in Arkansas. … It was the tour’s 34th visit to the Little Rock oval.
On the move: Brian Rickman of Columbus, Miss., started 15th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Looney’s Capital Race Car is powered by a Cornett engine and sponsored by Atnip Motorsports, Specialty Risk Insurance, Atnip Express, Duvall Electric, Penske Racing Shocks and Swift Springs.
Points chase: Before I-30, Timothy Culp (1,115 points) of Prattsville, Ark., leads Jesse Stovall (1,075), Logan Martin (965), B.J. Robinson (890) and Spencer Hughes (865).
Current weather: Few Clouds, 82°F
Car count: 32
Fast qualifier: Jon Mitchell
Time: 14.379 seconds
Polesitter: Jon Mitchell
Heat race winners: Jon Mitchell, Logan Martin, Payton Looney, Spencer Hughes
Consolation race winners: Timothy Culp, Robert Baker
Next series race: June 18, Magnolia Motor Speedway (Columbus, MS) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

 Feature lineup

Row 1: Mitchell, Looney
Row 2: Martin, Hughes
Row 3: R. Rickman, Baggett
Row 4: Godsey, Stovall
Row 5: Stultz, Beard
Row 6: Armstrong, Bagley
Row 7: Cornell, Rasdon
Row 8: B. Rickman, Sturrett
Row 9: Culp, Baker
Row 10: Robinson, Petty
Row 11: Crigler, Payne

Sponsor 774
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728