Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/26/2022 17:26:11

Sponsor 743
May 2
Boyd's Speedway,
Ringgold, GA
Sanction: Unsanctioned special events (Boyd’s Dirt Showdown) - $5,000
Information provided by: Staff reports (last updated May 3, 3:46 pm)
McIntosh pockets $5,000 in Boyd's Dirt Showdown
Boyd’s Dirt Showdown
  1. Donald McIntosh
  2. Austin Smith
  3. Michael Page
  4. Riley Hickman
  5. John Ownbey
  6. Zach Leonhardi
  7. Cory Hedgecock
  8. Mario Gresham
  9. Tod Hernandez
  10. Jesse Lowe
  11. Tanner English
  12. Devin Moran
  13. Austin Neely
  14. Jason Hiett
  15. Jordan Rodabaugh
  16. Shanon Buckingham
  17. Vic Hill
  18. Cody King
  19. David Seibers
  20. Richard Smith
  21. Dale McDowell
  22. Jadon Frame
  23. Hudson O'Neal
  24. Heath Hindman
  25. Blake Naylor
presented by
Brian McLeod/Dirt Scenes
Donald McIntosh shows off his big paycheck at Boyd’s.
What won the race: Fast qualifier Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga., overtook fellow front-row starter Austin Neely on the seventh lap to earn $5,000 Saturday in the Boyd's Dirt Showdown for Super Late Models. Austin Smith and seventh-row starter Michael Page were second and third.
Quotable: "These last six weeks have been rough on me; I've raced since I was 5 years old and never really had it take away like (with the shutdown from the coronavirus pandemic," McIntosh said, later adding that "I'm just glad we're back racing ... it's just really a cool moment to soak it in."
Key notes: McIntosh also got $500 from RaceKnowHow.com for fast time. ... The race was slowed several times, including when third-running Austin Neely slowed on lap 42 with a flat right-rear tire. ... David Seibers slowed for a lap-15 yellow. ... Richard Smith pulled up for a lap-21 caution (that was followed by two quick cautions on ensuing restarts for Jason Hiett's flat and Cody King's turn-one spin). ... Heath Hindman stopped in a turn four for a lap-34 yellow (Jesse Lowe and Dale McDowell tangled on the restart for another caution). ... The final yellow was on lap 44 for Devin Moran's flat (he drove the Tommy Pope Motorsports No. 22). ... Trevor Sise won the Crate Late Model feature. ... The drivers' meeting was at 4 p.m. and the final checkers fell about 11:20 p.m.
On the move: Michael Page of Douglasville, Ga., started 13th and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: McIntosh's Blount Motorsports Rocket Chassis is powered by a Vic Hill Racing Engine and sponsored by Stowers CAT Machinery, Blount Excavating, Massey Electric, Turner Hydraulics, Ole Ben Franklin Motors, Walker’s Truck Contractors and the Wine and Spirits Cellar.
Current weather: Clear, 76°F
Car count: 36
Fast qualifier: Donald McIntosh
Time: 14.225 seconds
Polesitter: Austin Neely
Heat race winners: David Seibers, Richard Smith
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
From staff reports

RINGGOLD, Ga. — Saturday’s updates from the Boyd’s Dirt Showdown, a spectator-free program highlighted by a $5,000-to-win Super Late Model event (results unofficial):

Main event

Fast qualifier Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga., overtook fellow front-row starter Austin Neely on the seventh lap to earn $5,000 Saturday in the Boyd's Dirt Showdown for Super Late Models.

Preliminary results

First heat (top four transfer): David Seibers, Tod Hernandez, Hudson O'Neal, Mario Gresham, Blake Naylor, Marty Lunsford, Dean Carpenter, Justin Litchford.

Second heat (top four transfer): Richard Smith, Dale McDowell, Jadon Frame, Heath Hindman, Ahnna Parkhurst, Dustin Linville, Andrew Littleton, Travis Smith, Adam Elliott, Brentt Roberts.

Time trials

Group A
(Top eight from each group locked into feature)
Driver (car no.), hometown

  1. Austin Neely (3), New Tazewell, Tenn., 14.464
  2. Austin Smith (84), Rome, Ga., 14.555
  3. Riley Hickman (R1), Ooltewah, Tenn., 14.608
  4. Devin Moran (22), Dresden, Ohio, 14.633
  5. Jesse Lowe (5J), Crossville, Tenn., 14.696
  6. Vic Hill (1), Mosheim, Tenn., 14.698
  7. Zach Leonhardi (24), Cartersville, Ga., 14.757
  8. Cody King (62), McDonough, Ga., 14.921
  9. Tod Hernandez (T6), Chattanooga, Tenn., 14.984
  10. Oliver Gentry (03), Newnan, Ga., 15.001
  11. David Seibers (18), Chapel Hill, Tenn., 15.005
  12. Hudson O’Neal (71), Martinsville, Ind., 15.029
  13. Mario Gresham (21), Rome, Ga., 15.059
  14. Blake Naylor (91s), Sardinia, Ohio, 15.239
  15. Justin Litchford (27), Tullahoma, Tenn., 15.251
  16. Joey Standridge (56), Tellico Plains, Tenn., 15.437
  17. Marty Lunsford (96M), Newnan, Ga., 15.448
  18. Dean Carpenter (51), Coldwater, Miss., 15.500

Group B

  1. Donald McIntosh (7m), Dawsonville, Ga., 14.225
  2. Jason Hiett (85), Oxford, Ala., 14.319
  3. Tanner English (81E), Benton, Ky., 14.339
  4. Jordan Rodabaugh (66R), Soddy Daisy, Tenn., 14.394
  5. Shanon Buckingham (50), Morristown, Tenn., 14.461
  6. Cory Hedgecock (23), Loudon, Tenn., 14.469
  7. Michael Page (18), Douglasville, Ga., 14.612
  8. John Ownbey (0), Cleveland, Tenn., 14.668
  9. Richard Smith (7), Hartselle, Ala., 14.672
  10. Dale McDowell (17m), Chickamauga, Ga., 14.682
  11. Heath Hindman (91), Chatsworth, Ga., 14.824
  12. Jadon Frame (J8), Decherd, Tenn., 14.832
  13. Ahnna Parkhurst (23P), Evans, Ga., 14.898
  14. Dustin Linville (D8), Lancaster, Ky., 14.923
  15. Andrew Littleton (87), Chatsworth, Ga., 15.021
  16. Travis Smith (17), Decatur, Ala., 15.267
  17. Adam Elliott (11), Cunningham, Ky., 16.300
  18. Brentt Roberts, Anniston, Ala., 17.184

Saturday’s schedule

(Starting 4 p.m. EDT)
- Drivers’ meeting
Hot laps
- Sportsman Late Models
- Crate Late Models
- Driver developmental
- Super Late Models
Opening ceremonies
- Sportsman Late Model heats (8 laps)
- Crate Late Model time trials
- Driver developmental heats (8 laps)
- Super Late Model time trials
- Crate Late Model heats (8 laps)
- Super Late Model heats (8 laps)
- Consolation races (if necessary)
Main events
Sportsman Late Models (20 laps)
Crate Late Models (20 laps)
Driver developmental (15 laps)
Super Late Models (50 laps)

Feature lineup

Row 1: Neely, McIntosh
Row 2: A. Smith, Hiett
Row 3: Hickman, English
Row 4: Moran, Rodabaugh
Row 5: Lowe, Buckingham
Row 6: Hill, Hedgecock
Row 7: Leonhardi, Page
Row 8: King, Ownbey
Row 9: Seibers, R. Smith
Row 10: Hernandez, McDowell
Row 11: O'Neal, Frame
Row 12: Gresham, Hindman

Sponsor 1044
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728