Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/11/2020 08:55:16

Sponsor 743
March 6
Boothill Speedway,
Greenwood, LA
Sanction: Comp Cams Super Dirt Series (Ronny Adams Memorial) - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated March 8, 8:19 am)
Last-lap pass lifts Erb past Stovall at Boothill
Ronny Adams Memorial
  1. Tyler Erb
  2. Jesse Stovall
  3. Billy Moyer Jr.
  4. Timothy Culp
  5. Neil Baggett
  6. Spencer Hughes
  7. B.J. Robinson
  8. Jon Mitchell
  9. Morgan Bagley
  10. Robert Baker
  11. Rick Rickman
  12. Earl Pearson Jr.
  13. Hunter Rasdon
  14. Kyle Beard
  15. Michael Arnold
  16. Scott Crigler
  17. Drew Armstrong
  18. Chad Mallett
  19. Kaeden Cornell
  20. Joe Godsey
  21. Logan Martin
  22. Brian Rickman
presented by
Scott Burson/scottscustomart.com
Tyler Erb (c8) goes around Jesse Stovall (00) on the final lap at Boothill.
What won the race: Overtaking race-long leader Jesse Stovall on the final lap, Tyler Erb piloted his buddy Timothy Culp’s backup car to victory in Friday's Comp Cams Super Dirt Series opener at Boothill Speedway. Finishing 0.271 seconds ahead of Stovall, Erb pocketed $3,000 for his third career series triumph.
Quotable: “I was kind of hoping (Stovall) would duck down that last corner like he did,” said Erb, who raced at a track just a 3-hour drive from his Texas hometown. “It just worked out in our favor for once.”
Key notes: Polesitter Jesse Stovall of Billings, Mo., led the first 29 circuits before Erb slipped around with a high-side pass in turn four on the final lap. … Both of Erb's previous Comp Cams triumphs came in 2015, at East Texas Speedway and Greenville (Miss.) Speedway. ... Culp overtook Erb for second early in the race, but a broken brake line that left the Arkansas driver without brakes contributed to him falling to a fourth-place finish. ... The Comp Cams Series kicked off its 14th season with the first night of the Ronny Adams Memorial, a two-race weekend at Boothill Speedway featuring a $3,000-to-win Super Late Model race on Friday and a $7,000-to-win race on Saturday. The weekend honors the late Adams, a veteran racer who passed away in August 2019 after a short battle with pancreatic cancer. During his 51-year career the Texas native recorded 589 career wins, including 14 track championships at Boothill and nine Louisiana State Championships. “I raced with him from the time I was 14, 15 years old and I always just heard the stories about him racing here,” Erb said of Adams. “I’m super excited to win this in memory of him.”
On the move: Scott Crigler of Monticello, Ark., started 22nd and finished 16th.
Winner's sponsors: Erb’s Timothy Culp-owned Rocket Chassis is powered by Clements Racing Engines and carries sponsorship from Bennings Heat & Air, Carrier, Culp’s Automotive, Loftis Farms and Henry’s Auto Salvage.
Points chase: The series kicked off Friday with the two-day Ronny Adams Memorial.
Current weather: Mostly Clear, 49°F
Car count: 39
Fast qualifier: Jon Mitchell
Time: 13.941 seconds
Polesitter: Jesse Stovall
Heat race winners: Jesse Stovall, Tyler Erb, Spencer Hughes, Timothy Culp
Consolation race winners: Hunter Rasdon, Michael Arnold
Provisional starters: Brian Rickman, Scott Crigler
Next series race: March 27, Batesville Motor Speedway (Locust Grove, AR) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Stovall, Hughes
Row 2: Erb, Culp
Row 3: Moyer Jr., Baggett
Row 4: Bagley, Robinson
Row 5: Cornell, Mitchell
Row 6: Baker, Pearson Jr.
Row 7: Martin, R. Rickman
Row 8: Beard, Armstrong
Row 9: Rasdon, Arnold
Row 10: Mallett, Godsey
Row 11: B. Rickman, Crigler
Sponsor 682
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728