Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/25/2023 19:06:06

Sponsor 743
August 16
Lancaster Speedway,
Lancaster, SC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series (Countdown to the Cup) - $4,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated August 17, 3:08 pm)
Lancaster puts Franklin atop Clash win charts
Countdown to the Cup
  1. Dennis Franklin
  2. Casey Roberts
  3. Johnny Pursley
  4. Ross Bailes
  5. Luke Roffers
  6. Ricky Weeks
  7. Kevin Wilson
  8. Kennie Compton Jr.
  9. Anthony Sanders
  10. Kyle Pierce
  11. G.R. Smith
  12. Zack Mitchell
  13. Kenny Rominger Jr.
  14. Scott Shirey
  15. Brent Dixon
  16. Dustin Mitchell
  17. Doug Sanders
  18. Donald Bradsher
  19. Justin Labonte
  20. Ben Watkins
  21. Tim Allen
  22. Ronnie Hoover
  23. Jonathan Edwards
presented by
Gene Murphy
Dennis Franklin won the first Countdown to the Cup event.
What won the race: Becoming the tour's winningest driver, polesitter and fast qualifier Dennis "Rambo" Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., earned $4,000 Saturday for a flag-to-flag victory at Lancaster Motor Speedway. Franklin's 36th career victory, and second this week, breaks a tie with 35-race winner Ricky Weeks, who finished sixth.
Key notes: Franklin has four Carolina Clash victories this season. ... Runner-up Casey Roberts challenged Franklin but couldn't find a way past. ... Kennie Compton Jr. slowed with a lap-24 flat tire but came back to finish eighth. ... A red flag appeared on a lap-11 restart when at least eight cars piled up under the flagstand ... Ben Watkins was out before completing a lap when he got hard into the turn-two wall. ... The fast-qualifying Franklin was just five-thousandths quicker than Casey Roberts. ... Lancaster hosted the first event of the six-race Countdown to the Cup Championship Chase, the tour's NASCAR-style finish to the season with a reset in points. ... The series made its 14th stop at the track. ... Ross Bailes won the SECA feature for Crate Late Models.
On the move: Johnny Pursley of Clover, S.C., finished third after starting 11th.
Winner's sponsors: Franklin's Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Automotive Racing Engine is sponsored by Advanced Electronic Services, AES Racing, C&D Properties and M&W Towing.
Points chase: In the reset chase points, Dennis Franklin has 1,039 points to lead Johnny Pursley (1,038) and Kennie Compton Jr. (1,035).
Car count: 27
Fast qualifier: Dennis Franklin
Time: 18.564 seconds
Polesitter: Dennis Franklin
Consolation race winners: G.R. Smith, Johnny Pursley
Provisional starters: Kenny Rominger Jr., Ronnie Hoover
Next series race: August 31, Cherokee Speedway (Gaffney, SC) $4,000
Editor's note: Fixes point standings.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information