Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/24/2024 23:13:51

Sponsor 743
April 5
I-80 Speedway,
Greenwood, NE
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Durst Double Down Spring Meltdown) - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 7, 7:47 pm)
Phillips continues roll, pockets $3,000 at I-80
Durst Double Down Spring Meltdown
  1. Terry Phillips
  2. Tommy Weder Jr.
  3. Brad Looney
  4. Brian Birkhofer
  5. Chad Simpson
  6. John Anderson
  7. Chase Junghans
  8. Travis Dickes
  9. Chris Simpson
  10. Bill Leighton Jr.
  11. Jason O'Brien
  12. Matt Furman
  13. Dave Eckrich
  14. Andy Eckrich
  15. Jordan Yaggy
  16. Justin Gregg
  17. Spencer Diercks
  18. Jason Bodenhamer
  19. Bill Koons
  20. Jim Johnson
  21. J.C. Wyman
  22. Jason Utter
  23. Kyle Berck
  24. Corey Zeitner
  25. Lance Matthees
  26. Andrew Kosiski
  27. Jase Kaser
  28. Junior Coover
  29. Al Humphrey
  30. Rodney Sanders
  31. Jeremy Payne
  32. Tad Pospisil
presented by
Todd Boyd
Terry Phillips won his seventh career MLRA event at I-80 Speedway.
What won the race: Driving a new Rocket Chassis, second-starting Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., kept fellow front-row starter Tommy Weder Jr. of Woodward, Okla., at bay en route to his third straight Late Model victory.
Quotable: "We've been working day and night on it," Phillips said. "Usually new cars is temperamental. (Rocket's ) Mark Richards, he got us dialed in. I ain't screwed a turn on it tonight, so that's a good night. We got a new motor in it that Hatfield Engines built. It's an animal."
Key notes: Phillips has a shot at a $2,500 bonus from title sponsor Durst Motorsplex if he can repeat and win Sunday's $2,000-to-win race. ... Also with his victory, Phillips earned a provisional starting spot for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned Silver Dollar Nationals on July 18-19. ... Two cautions slowed the 35-lapper. ... Runner-up Tommy Weder Jr. rallied from seventh to dominate his heat race and earn the pole position for the feature. ... Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, debuted a new Rocket Chassis with a fifth-place finish. ... Jeremy Payne of Springfield, Mo., made his season debut in the GRT house car, but was an early dropout in the 32-car field. ... Friday's $2,000-to-win opener was moved to Sunday because of uncooperative weather. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Todd Frank, Don Shaw, Dave Garmann and Scott Lewis.
On the move: Matt Furman of Columbus, Ohio, rallied from 22nd to place 12th.
Winner's sponsors: Phillips drives a Hatfield-powered Rocket Chassis sponsored by Andy's Frozen Custard, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Don Babb Motorosports and New Vision Graphics.
Points chase: The event opened the season for MLRA and Corn Belt Clash competitors; defending MLRA champion Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo., did not enter the event.
Car count: 43
Polesitter: Tommy Weder Jr.
Heat race winners: Brad Looney, Tommy Weder Jr., Chase Junghans, Kyle Berck, Terry Phillips
Consolation race winners: Andrew Kosiski, Jeremy Payne
Next series race: September 5, Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information