Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 08/11/2020 23:14:32

Sponsor 743
December 15
Lavonia Speedway,
Lavonia, GA
Sanction: Drydene Xtreme DIRTcar Series - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated December 16, 7:07 am)
Mitchell earns $5,000 Drydene victory at Lavonia
  1. Zack Mitchell
  2. Trent Ivey
  3. Chris Madden
  4. Logan Roberson
  5. G.R. Smith
  6. Ross Bailes
  7. Kyle Strickler
  8. Chris Ferguson
  9. John Henderson
  10. Pearson Lee Williams
  11. Payton Freeman
  12. Brian Connor
  13. Ethan Wilson
  14. Jeff Smith
  15. Cla Knight
  16. Tim Vance
  17. Avery Breedlove
  18. Blake Craft
  19. Kenny Collins
  20. Bubba Russell
  21. Jamie Oliver
presented by
Richard Barnes
Zack Mitchell takes the checkers for his $5,000 victory at Lavonia.
What won the race: Ending Chris Madden’s two-race win streak on the fledging Drydene Xtreme DIRTcar Series, pole-starting Zack Mitchell of Enoree, S.C., led all 40 laps Sunday afternoon at Lavonia Speedway. Trent Ivey was second while Madden’s third-place finish completed a podium sweep for South Carolina drivers.
Quotable: “Those cautions, they were actually helping me a little bit, helping keep that (right rear) tire cooled off,” Mitchell said. “I knew there at the end of the race I’d done used it up pretty good."
Key notes: Mitchell took the checkers 2.285 seconds ahead of Trent Ivey. ... Third-place finisher Chris Madden won the previous series events at Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, S.C., and Volunteer Speedway in Bulls Gap, Tenn. … Former Barry Wright house car driver Ross Bailes debuted a new Rocket Chassis with a sixth-place finish; Bailes spun to draw a lap-10 yellow and rallied before falling off the pace for another caution on lap 29. … Kenny Collins, who had mechanical problems on lap 14, was among early retirees. ... Thirteen drivers completed 40 laps.
On the move: Trent Ivey of Union, S.C., started sixth and finished second.
Winner's sponsors: Mitchell’s Barry Wright Race Car is sponsored by Klotz Synthetic Lubricants, Eubanks Oil, Clary Hood Inc., Rustic Rose Boutique and Charles West Grading.
Points chase: Before Lavonia: 1. Chris Madden (30); 2. Brandon Overton (22); 3. Kyle Strickler (18); 4. Chris Ferguson (15); T5. Trent Ivey (14); T5. Logan Roberson (14); 7. Ross Bailes (13); 8. Jimmy Owens (12); T9. Michael Brown (11); T9. Shanon Buckingham (11).
Current weather: Mostly Cloudy, 61°F
Car count: 21
Fast qualifier: Zack Mitchell
Time: 15.662 seconds
Polesitter: Zack Mitchell
Heat race winners: Zack Mitchell, Chris Madden, G.R. Smith
Next series race: January 18, Cherokee Speedway (Gaffney, SC) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Mitchell, Roberson
Row 2: Ferguson, G.R. Smith
Row 3: Madden, Ivey
Row 4: Collins, Strickler
Row 5: Freeman, Henderson
Row 6: Williams, Bailes
Row 7: Connor, Vance
Row 8: J. Smith, Wilson
Row 9: Russell, Craft
Row 10: Knight, Oliver
Row 11: Breedlove

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728