Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 08/12/2020 10:36:10

Sponsor 743
December 7
Volunteer Speedway,
Bulls Gap, TN
Sanction: Drydene Xtreme DIRTcar Series (Grinch at the Gap) - $5,000
Information provided by: Richard Allen of InsideDirtRacing.com (last updated December 8, 10:29 am)
Madden rolls to Grinch's $5,000 prize at Bulls Gap
Grinch at the Gap
  1. Chris Madden
  2. Kyle Strickler
  3. Brandon Overton
  4. Shanon Buckingham
  5. Chris Ferguson
  6. Donald McIntosh
  7. Logan Roberson
  8. Robby Moses
  9. Cory Hedgecock
  10. Pearson Lee Williams
  11. David Webb
  12. Jeff Smith
  13. Steve Smith
  14. Tim Vance
  15. Aaron Guinn
  16. Tommy Bailey
  17. Michael Chilton
  18. Jordan Rodabaugh
  19. Will Harris
  20. Trent Ivey
  21. Ryan King
  22. Daniel Dial
  23. Zack Mitchell
presented by
Michael Moats/mrmracing.net
Chris Madden earned $5,000 for his Volunteer Speedway victory.
What won the race: Adding yet another flourish to his spectacular surge through the second half of the 2019 season, Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C., overtook race-long pacesetter Kyle Strickler for the lead on lap 23 and raced away to capture Saturday's 40-lap Drydene Xtreme DIRTcar Winter Series-sanctioned Grinch at the Gap feature at Volunteer Speedway. The red-hot Scott Bloomquist Racing driver earned $5,000 after taking the checkered flag 2.151 seconds in front of Strickler.
Quotable: “A 40-lap feature kind of worries me a little bit to start sixth, that’s not real long,” Madden said. “Fortunately, we had a couple of cautions work our way and our car was good enough that we could maneuver around (in traffic). I think [Strickler] was just a little bit free … we had a good race car tonight, and Strickler did too. He hasn’t been in a Late Model that long, but he did a great job.”
Key notes: Madden marched forward from the sixth starting spot to go 2-for-2 in the new DIRTcar-sanctioned miniseries and emerge victorious for the 11th time overall this season. All but one of his checkered flags have come since he joined Scott Bloomquist Racing in mid-July. ... Madden's triumph was his fourth in five starts since the beginning of November. ... Strickler's runner-up finish was his best since debuting his self-owned Dirt Late Model team last month. It came in his first-ever start at Bulls Gap. ... Third-place finisher Brandon Overton rallied from the ninth starting spot to claim the final podium position with a last-lap pass of Shanon Buckingham. ... Chris Ferguson recovered from nose damage his car sustained in an incident early in the program to finish fifth. ... Caution flags flew on lap 15, 16 (Will Harris spin) and 33 (Trent Ivey). ... The Xtreme Winter Series has six events scheduled from Nov. 24 until Feb. 29 with a $20,000 prize earmarked for the champion.
On the move: Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga., started 14th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Madden's Scott Bloomquist Racing Bloomquist Race Car is powered by a Custom Race Engine and carries sponsorship from Great America Steak Co., Sweet Manufacturing, Petroff Towing, Sorbera Chiropractic, RVB Transport, VP Racing Fuels and Penske Racing Shocks.
Points chase: After Volunteer: 1. Chris Madden (30); 2. Brandon Overton (22); 3. Kyle Strickler (18); 4. Chris Ferguson (15); T5. Trent Ivey (14); T5. Logan Roberson (14); 7. Ross Bailes (13); 8. Jimmy Owens (12); T9. Michael Brown (11); T9. Shanon Buckingham (11).
Current weather: Sunny, 50°F
Car count: 23
Fast qualifier: Chris Madden
Time: 13.016 seconds
Polesitter: Kyle Strickler
Heat race winners: Chris Madden, Michael Chilton, Kyle Strickler
Next series race: December 15, Lavonia Speedway (Lavonia, GA) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Strickler, Moses
Row 2: Buckingham, Mitchell
Row 3: Chilton, Madden
Row 4: Roberson, Hedgecock
Row 5: Overton, King
Row 6: Ferguson, Ivey
Row 7: Williams, McIntosh
Row 8: J. Smith, Vance
Row 9: Webb, Bailey
Row 10: Harris, Guinn
Row 11: Rodabaugh, S. Smith
Row 12: Dial

Sponsor 1070
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728