Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/05/2021 16:52:01

Sponsor 743
November 30
FK Rod Ends Arizona Speedway,
Queen Creek, AZ
Sanction: FK Rod Ends Southwest Dirt Racing Association (Copper Classic) - $1,500
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated December 2, 11:18 am)
Shaw shines in Copper Classic opener
Copper Classic
  1. Don Shaw
  2. Tony Toste
  3. Cody Laney
  4. Craig Parker
  5. John Cornell
  6. Bruce Duckett
  7. Bud Grossenbacher
  8. Jimmy Whisler
  9. John Morris Jr.
  10. Matt Sparby
  11. Mark Daye
  12. James Laing
  13. Jerry Fincher
  14. Brad Williams
  15. David Vennard
  16. Steve Stultz
  17. Scott Francouer
  18. Paul Rios
  19. Scott Sluka
  20. Bucky Andrews
presented by
What won the race: Don Shaw of Ham Lake, Minn., grabbed the lead after going three-wide with Tony Toste and a lapped car on the seventh lap and captured a $1,500 payday at FK Rod Ends Arizona Speedway in the Southwest Dirt Racing Association’s Copper Classic opener.
Key notes: Shaw captured his third SWDRA victory at the FK Rod Ends Arizona Speedway this season and sixth series win of 2019. ... Shaw notched his 15th career SWDRA triumph, fourth most in series history. ... The 25-lap main event first slowed for caution on lap nine for the spinning Scott Francoeur in turns three and four. ... Just before that caution, Shaw took the lead from Toste. ... After the restart, Cody Laney jumped to second, but a caution for Brad Williams and Steve Stultz made him give up the spot. ... On the ensuing restart, Toste and Laney put on a clinic battling for the second position that Toste ended up winning. ... The Copper Classic concludes on Sunday with a $3,000-to-win feature and offers valuable track time for drivers who plan to compete during the Wild West Shootout, in January.
On the move: Bruce Duckett of Mesa, Ariz., started 16th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Shaw's Rocket Chassis has a Vic Hill Racing Engine and sponsorship from Shaw Trucking, Blaine Brothers, Sure Step, Dehn Oil, Northern Metal Recycling, SIDUMP’R Trailer Co., Village Bank and Lube-Tech.
Points chase: John Cornell of Phoenix, Ariz., clinched the 2019 series title before the non-points weekend finale.
Car count: 20
Polesitter: Bud Grossenbacher
Heat race winners: Craig Parker, Don Shaw, Tony Toste
Editor's note: Corrects winner’s chassis.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Grossenbacher, Toste
Row 2: Parker, Williams
Row 3: Laney, Shaw
Row 4: Stultz, Cornell
Row 5: Whisler, Sluka
Row 6: Laing, Sparby
Row 7: Vennard, Fincher
Row 8: Francoeur, Duckett
Row 9: Daye, Morris
Row 10: Andrews, Rios

Sponsor 1044
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728