Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/26/2022 18:21:39

Sponsor 743
November 22
Screven Motor Speedway,
Sylvania, GA
Sanction: Ultimate Southeast Series (Georgia State Outlaw Championship) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated November 23, 9:18 pm)
Ferguson's 'questionable’ Screven slider pays off
Georgia State Outlaw Championship
  1. Chris Ferguson
  2. Zack Mitchell
  3. Jeff Smith
  4. Cla Knight
  5. Kyle Hardy
  6. Brian Connor
  7. Matthew Nance
  8. Daulton Wilson
  9. G.R. Smith
  10. Scott Shirey
  11. John Henderson
  12. Brandon Overton
  13. Joshua Bishop
  14. Anthony Sanders
  15. Michael Brown
  16. Kenny Collins
  17. Pearson Lee Williams
  18. Doug Sanders
  19. Tommy Jones
  20. Dalton Cook
presented by
Richard Barnes
Chris Ferguson waves in victory lane at Screven Motor Speedway.
What won the race: After his lap-36 slide job sent polesitter Zack Mitchell for a 360-degree in turn four, third-starting Chris Ferguson of Mount Holly, N.C., led the final 15 laps for a $5,000 victory in the Ultimate Southeast finale at Screven Motor Speedway. Ferguson crossed the finish line 3.172 seconds ahead of Mitchell in the 50-lapper.
Quotable: “We threw a couple of sliders. We threw a couple of clean ones and that last one was a little questionable. But I had it once and it’s made, and I really wanted to win tonight,” Ferguson said. “He had the best car and he got into the fence and let me get to him."
Key notes: Runner-up Zack Mitchell was able to keep his car rolling after the lap-35 incident, but couldn't catch Ferguson. ... "What goes around comes around," Mitchell said diplomatically in victory lane after his tangle with Ferguson. "When I drive across his nose Sunday I don't wanna hear nothing." ... Four drivers finished on the lead lap. ... G.R. Smith was running a solid third before knocking off his car's rear spoiler before halfway. ... Brandon Overton, who was making his first start for Kentucky-based Wells Motorsports, rallied from 11th to third but retired with mechanical woes on lap 19. ... Pearson Lee Williams, who replaced Overton in the Rum Runner Racing ride, was part of an early caution and retired after three laps. ... The 20th annual Georgia State Outlaw Championships closed the tour’s season.
On the move: Scott Shirey of Swansea, S.C., started 19th and finished 10th.
Winner's sponsors: Ferguson’s Bloomquist Race Car is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by Diff-Tan Machining, K&K Trucking, Live Oak Aesthetic and Family Dentistry, Champion, The Racing Warehouse, RPM Truck & Trailer Sales & Service, New Point Lighting & Design, Carver & Son’s Roofing, Southeast Foundation and Crawlspace Repair, Langley Collision Center and Keith’s Handyman Services.
Points chase: Race runner-up Zack Mitchell of Enoree, S.C., wrapped up the series title while Daulton Wilson was honored as Rookie of the Year.
Current weather: Clear, 55°F
Car count: 20
Fast qualifier: Zack Mitchell
Time: 15.842 seconds
Polesitter: Zack Mitchell
Editor's note: Corrects pass of winning pass to 36 sted 35 and Shirey’s home state.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Mitchell, G.R. Smith
Row 2: Ferguson, Henderson
Row 3: Knight, Nance
Row 4: J. Smith, Hardy
Row 5: Cook, Brown
Row 6: Overton, Collins
Row 7: Connor, Bishop
Row 8: Williams, Wilson
Row 9: A. Sanders, Jones
Row 10: Shirey, D. Sanders

Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728